What Is Escrow & How Does It Work?

Escrow isn’t the most euphonious word, but it’s important when you’re a homebuyer and homeowner. In real estate transactions, escrow is the process of keeping money in trust until certain conditions are met. There are a couple different ways that escrow might be used, so let’s look more closely at this important process.

Key Points

•   Escrow involves a neutral third party holding money and documents during the home sale process to ensure both parties meet agreed terms.

•   During home buying, the buyer’s earnest money is held in escrow until the sale is finalized.

•   Post-purchase, escrow accounts help mortgage lenders ensure timely payment of property taxes and insurance.

•   Escrow protects buyers, sellers, and lenders.

•   Escrow costs typically range from 1% to 2% of the home’s sale price, varying by location.

What Is Escrow?

There are a couple of ways that escrow is used. The first time you might encounter it is during the home-buying process, when your good-faith deposit (also known as “earnest money”) is held in escrow until the sale is finalized.

The funds are kept in the care of an escrow agent, who ensures that the deal terms are met by both sides. This protects both the buyer and the seller during the homebuying journey, which can sometimes be bumpy.

After you purchase a home, an escrow account is often used again as a way to help the mortgage lender ensure that an owner pays property taxes and home insurance fees in a timely and consistent fashion (more on that later). In this scenario, your mortgage loan payments will include taxes and insurance. An escrow account set up by the lender or mortgage servicer will accrue that portion of your monthly payment and pay the tax and insurance bills when they’re due.

First-time homebuyers can
prequalify for a SoFi mortgage loan,
with as little as 3% down.


When you make an offer on a home and the seller accepts it, you’ll typically submit some earnest money. This good-faith deposit shows the seller that you are serious about buying the property. Once the seller accepts your offer, the buyer’s or seller’s agent opens an escrow account with an escrow provider, often a title company. The earnest money, as well as the purchase agreement, the seller’s deed, and other documents are held there in escrow until the sale is final.

The earnest money deposit (typically 1% to 3% of the purchase price, though it can be more in a hot market) is verified by the escrow agent, and evidence is sent to the lender in writing.

Buyers who minimize contingencies in their purchase agreement risk forfeiting their earnest money deposit.

Common contingencies include the mortgage contingency, which allows either party to walk away from the deal if the buyers are unable to secure financing by the agreed-upon deadline, and the sale of current home contingency, when buyers need the proceeds from the sale of their existing home to afford the new home.

Others are appraisal and home inspection contingencies. These will all be written into the purchase contract.

As the process moves forward, the escrow agent is responsible for ordering a title search, and tracking and verifying the items laid out in the escrow instructions for the home sale.

The earnest money deposit is held in escrow and when the sale goes through it is used toward the down payment and closing costs.

Sometimes, funds are held in escrow beyond the closing. When this happens, it’s called an escrow holdback. It might occur if, for example, you and the seller make an arrangement that allows the seller to stay in the house for a month after the closing. Money would be held in escrow to pay the seller’s final utility bills. Or perhaps the seller has agreed to make a repair to the home but the work is not completed at the time of closing. Funds might be held in escrow to cover the cost until the repair is made.

What’s the Benefit of Escrow?

Escrow is designed to protect the buyer, seller, and lender until the transaction is complete. Having a neutral third party handle the paperwork and transfer of funds can benefit all parties in a real estate sale.

Escrow is required when you obtain financing, but it is used in cash sales as well. As a buyer, it can be comforting to know that all the transaction details are being handled by the appropriate parties.

As a seller, escrow provides a safeguard if anything goes wrong with the sale. For example, if the borrower backs out of the sale and breaks terms of the contract, the earnest money deposit may be forfeited by the buyer.

Recommended: Selling a House With a Mortgage

How Much Does Escrow Cost?

Escrow companies usually charge a base fee plus a percentage of the purchase price. That typically comes to 1% to 2% of a home’s sale price, but the cost varies by state and county.

For a $400,000 house, an escrow charge of 2% would be $8,000.

You may want to ask your real estate agent or mortgage lender to recommend a title company with low rates.

In many states, the buyer and seller split escrow fees or negotiate how they will be divided. The market temperature — buyer’s or seller’s market — can affect the negotiation.

Escrow After the Sale of the House

If you put less than 20% down on a conventional loan or take out a government-backed loan, your lender will typically establish an escrow account at closing where you will place money to pay homeowner’s insurance, property taxes, and, if necessary, private mortgage insurance (commonly called PMI). If your home is required to have flood insurance, then your lender is, in turn, required to escrow your insurance fees for this policy.

Once established, the account is maintained by monthly contributions that you make as part of your mortgage payment. When taxes and insurance are due, the lender or servicer pays them.

The escrow amount will be reflected on your mortgage statements. Once a year, your lender or loan servicer will examine your escrow account to make sure it is collecting the proper amount to cover your property taxes and insurance, and adjust your monthly payment as necessary.

If an excess of more than $50 is anticipated, you’ll receive an escrow refund. If the excess is less than $50, the loan servicer can choose whether to send you a refund or apply the overage to the following year. In the event of an escrow shortage, the homeowner might be asked to make an extra payment to escrow (this happens, for example, if there is an unexpected increase in property taxes). A loan servicer may also allow the homeowner to make up the shortage by adding to their monthly payments going forward. Either way, the monthly payment will be adjusted to ensure that, going forward, it reflects the true cost of the year’s taxes and insurance bills.

Using an escrow account for taxes and insurance helps protect you and your lender by ensuring that you maintain proper insurance coverage and pay your taxes on time. Consider what could happen if a property owner allows home insurance to lapse and then the home is damaged or destroyed: There would be no insurance funds to pay to repair or rebuild the home, and both the owner and lender would take a loss financially.

Recommended: What Is PMI and How to Avoid It

The Takeaway

What is escrow in real estate? It’s the holding of money and documents by an impartial third party during a home sale, or the lender’s collection of funds from a mortgage holder so that the lender can ensure that insurance fees and taxes are paid. Escrow is intended to protect buyer, seller, and lender and should bring peace of mind to all involved in a real estate transaction or mortgage.

Looking for an affordable option for a home mortgage loan? SoFi can help: We offer low down payments (as little as 3% - 5%*) with our competitive and flexible home mortgage loans. Plus, applying is extra convenient: It's online, with access to one-on-one help.

SoFi Mortgages: simple, smart, and so affordable.

FAQ

What is an escrow balance?

The escrow balance is the money that is held in a mortgagor’s escrow account to pay taxes, insurance, and if applicable, private mortgage insurance and flood insurance.

What is an escrow agreement?

An escrow agreement is a contract that outlines the terms and conditions of a transaction for something of value, which a third party holds until all conditions have been met.

What does it mean to be in escrow?

It means that an escrow agent is holding the earnest money, loan funds, and property deed until an appraisal and title search are done and financing has been approved. The earnest money typically will be applied to the down payment or closing costs as the closing progresses.


SoFi Loan Products
SoFi loans are originated by SoFi Bank, N.A., NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC). For additional product-specific legal and licensing information, see SoFi.com/legal. Equal Housing Lender.


SoFi Mortgages
Terms, conditions, and state restrictions apply. Not all products are available in all states. See SoFi.com/eligibility for more information.


*SoFi requires Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) for conforming home loans with a loan-to-value (LTV) ratio greater than 80%. As little as 3% down payments are for qualifying first-time homebuyers only. 5% minimum applies to other borrowers. Other loan types may require different fees or insurance (e.g., VA funding fee, FHA Mortgage Insurance Premiums, etc.). Loan requirements may vary depending on your down payment amount, and minimum down payment varies by loan type.

Financial Tips & Strategies: The tips provided on this website are of a general nature and do not take into account your specific objectives, financial situation, and needs. You should always consider their appropriateness given your own circumstances.

Tax Information: This article provides general background information only and is not intended to serve as legal or tax advice or as a substitute for legal counsel. You should consult your own attorney and/or tax advisor if you have a question requiring legal or tax advice.

This article is not intended to be legal advice. Please consult an attorney for advice.

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How Much Is the Down Payment for a $300K House for First-Time Homebuyers?

The median price for single-family homes and condos was $360,000 in the second quarter of 2024. So as expensive as it might sound, $300,000 is squarely in the price range of many first-time homebuyers these days.

If you go by the old rule of thumb and save up a 20% down payment, that means forking over $60,000 up front on a $300,000 home sale. However, most contemporary mortgages allow buyers to put down far less — first-time homebuyers can put down as little as 3%, which comes out to $9,000 on a $300,000 home. That said, there will likely be other upfront expenses to contend with, so saving up even more than that is still a good idea.

Let’s take a closer look at how to prepare for a $300,000 home purchase — including not only your down payment but also the amount of income you need to support your purchase.

First-time homebuyers can
prequalify for a SoFi mortgage loan,
with as little as 3% down.

Questions? Call (844)-763-4466.


How Much Income Do I Need to Afford a $300K Home?

There’s not one simple answer to this question — because the real question is, “How much income will it take to afford my mortgage payment?” And that question depends on how much your home loan payment turns out to be, whether you have to pay private mortgage insurance (PMI), and more. However, there is some quick napkin math we can do to help get an estimate.

Many financial experts say you shouldn’t be spending more than about 30% of your gross monthly income on housing. To simplify this even further, let’s just say a third of your gross income.

From here, we can do some reverse engineering and estimating to figure out how much income would likely comfortably support a $300,000 home purchase.

Using a mortgage calculator, supposing you purchase a $300,000 home with a $9,000 down payment and a 7.00% interest rate, you can see that your monthly payments would turn out to be about $1,900 a month. (Note: These figures are only estimates, and your real monthly payment will depend on your creditworthiness, your lender’s unique algorithm, and other factors.)

Using that one-third rule above, you’d need to be earning about $5,700 per month ($1,900 times three) before taxes to make your mortgage payments without overextending yourself financially. That comes out to an annual income of about $68,400.

Using a mortgage calculator with taxes and insurance, will get you even closer to your true monthly number. When you factor in taxes and homeowners insurance, your monthly payment would be closer to $2,300. Returning to the one-third rule, you would need an annual income of $82,800.

Of course, if you have large amounts of existing debt, you may need a higher income to comfortably make your payments. Still, this is a good point of reference to start with.

Recommended:The Cost of Living by State

How Much Is the Down Payment for a $300K House?

As mentioned above, the 20% down payment you’d need to avoid paying PMI is $60,000 for a $300,000 house. But with conventional mortgages that allow qualified first-time homebuyers to put down as little as 3%, your down payment could be just $9,000. (Depending on your credit score and other financial information, you may need to put down 5%, which would come out to $15,000.)

Keep in mind, though, that the down payment isn’t the only upfront expense of homeownership. It doesn’t include closing costs, which could be as much as 3% to 6% of the home purchase price (which means another $9,000 to $18,000, for a $300,000 home). You’ll also need to factor in expenses related to moving, furnishing, repairing, and renovating your new home.

What Are the Down Payment Options for a Home Worth $300K?

Which down payment you’ll qualify for depends on the type of mortgage you take out and your credit history.

•   No matter what type of mortgage you choose, if you put down 20%, or $60,000, you’ll avoid paying mortgage insurance (PMI) as part of your monthly payment.

•   If you qualify for a conventional mortgage, you may be eligible to put down as little as 3%, or $9,000. (Other borrowers may be qualified for 5%, or $15,000.)

•   Those who qualify for an FHA home loan as a first-time homebuyer may put down as little as 3.5%, or $10,500.

•   If you’re an active service member, veteran or surviving spouse, you may qualify for a VA loan. In some cases, you may be able to get a VA loan without any down payment at all.

If even a modest down payment feels out of reach, down payment assistance programs can also help.

What Does the Monthly Mortgage Payment Look Like for a $300K Home?

Again, your monthly mortgage payment will vary depending on your down payment, interest rate, the term of the loan (usually 15 or 30 years), and more. In calculating your specific loan options, your lender will take into consideration your personal credit factors as well as your DTI (debt to income) ratio.

Using a mortgage payment calculator can help. A calculator would show that someone who puts down $9,000 on a $300,000 home for a 30-year fixed-interest mortgage at 7.00% would pay approximately $1,936 per month (not including property taxes, MIP, or homeowners insurance). Note that because of the way loans are amortized, the bulk of your monthly payments will go toward interest, rather than principal, during the first part of the loan’s lifetime.

What to Do Before You Apply for a $300K Mortgage

If you want to maximize your chances for approval when applying for a $300,000 mortgage, consider taking some time to get your financial affairs in order. (Sometimes, life circumstances like a new job or a new baby mean you have to buy a home quickly, so you may not have time to make everything as shiny as you’d like.)

What does this mean? Paying down large existing debts, especially high-interest debt like credit card balances, can lower your DTI and win you more favorable mortgage terms (not to mention making it easier to make ends meet as far as other monthly expenses). Finding ways to increase your income can also improve your application — and make your financial life easier.

Should I Get Preapproved Before Applying for a Mortgage?

Getting preapproved is a great way to understand how much mortgage is available to you based on your current financial standing — and to signal to real estate professionals and sellers that you’re serious. Preapproval differs from prequalification in that it usually does require a “hard” credit check, so you should only do it if you’re truly ready to buy a house when the right one comes along — but if you are, it’ll give you the chance to get your foot in the door quickly.

Recommended: The Best Affordable Places in the U.S.

How to Get a $300K Mortgage

These days, applying for a mortgage is pretty easy and can usually be done in the comfort of your own home. You’ll likely need to upload documentation proving your income and identity to your lender’s online portal — or if you’re more comfortable doing so, you may be able to apply in person and supply documents on paper or via fax.

The Takeaway

The answer to the question “how much is the down payment for a $300K house?” could be as little as $9,000 or as much as $60,000 — or more. In some cases a zero down payment loan is even possible. It all depends on what kind of mortgage you want and qualify for, as well as how much you can reasonably afford to fork over at the closing table.

Looking for an affordable option for a home mortgage loan? SoFi can help: We offer low down payments (as little as 3% - 5%*) with our competitive and flexible home mortgage loans. Plus, applying is extra convenient: It's online, with access to one-on-one help.

SoFi Mortgages: simple, smart, and so affordable.

FAQ

Can I afford a $300K house on a $70K salary?

If you have minimal debts then a $70,000 salary might be enough to afford a $300,000 house. The size of your down payment and your mortgage interest rate will be important variables. Try to keep your monthly house payments below a third of your monthly gross income.

How much do you need to make to afford a $300K house?

There’s not one set answer to this question, because plenty of factors other than income influence your ability to qualify for a mortgage and comfortably make the payments. A good rule of thumb is to ensure you’re paying no more than a third of your gross monthly income toward housing. You would need an annual income of $82,800 to comfortably afford a $300,000 house when you factor in the mortgage payment, homeowners insurance costs, and taxes.

What credit score is needed to buy a $300,000 house?

Each lender has their own qualification schema as far as credit scores and other creditworthiness markers are concerned. That said, generally speaking, a credit score of at least 620 will help you qualify for more types of mortgages and open your options for shopping around.


Photo credit: iStock/undefined undefined

SoFi Loan Products
SoFi loans are originated by SoFi Bank, N.A., NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC). For additional product-specific legal and licensing information, see SoFi.com/legal. Equal Housing Lender.


SoFi Mortgages
Terms, conditions, and state restrictions apply. Not all products are available in all states. See SoFi.com/eligibility for more information.

*SoFi requires Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) for conforming home loans with a loan-to-value (LTV) ratio greater than 80%. As little as 3% down payments are for qualifying first-time homebuyers only. 5% minimum applies to other borrowers. Other loan types may require different fees or insurance (e.g., VA funding fee, FHA Mortgage Insurance Premiums, etc.). Loan requirements may vary depending on your down payment amount, and minimum down payment varies by loan type.
Financial Tips & Strategies: The tips provided on this website are of a general nature and do not take into account your specific objectives, financial situation, and needs. You should always consider their appropriateness given your own circumstances.

Third-Party Brand Mentions: No brands, products, or companies mentioned are affiliated with SoFi, nor do they endorse or sponsor this article. Third-party trademarks referenced herein are property of their respective owners.

¹FHA loans are subject to unique terms and conditions established by FHA and SoFi. Ask your SoFi loan officer for details about eligibility, documentation, and other requirements. FHA loans require an Upfront Mortgage Insurance Premium (UFMIP), which may be financed or paid at closing, in addition to monthly Mortgage Insurance Premiums (MIP). Maximum loan amounts vary by county. The minimum FHA mortgage down payment is 3.5% for those who qualify financially for a primary purchase. SoFi is not affiliated with any government agency.

Veterans, Service members, and members of the National Guard or Reserve may be eligible for a loan guaranteed by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. VA loans are subject to unique terms and conditions established by VA and SoFi. Ask your SoFi loan officer for details about eligibility, documentation, and other requirements. VA loans typically require a one-time funding fee except as may be exempted by VA guidelines. The fee may be financed or paid at closing. The amount of the fee depends on the type of loan, the total amount of the loan, and, depending on loan type, prior use of VA eligibility and down payment amount. The VA funding fee is typically non-refundable. SoFi is not affiliated with any government agency. Tax Information: This article provides general background information only and is not intended to serve as legal or tax advice or as a substitute for legal counsel. You should consult your own attorney and/or tax advisor if you have a question requiring legal or tax advice.

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How Much Can You Borrow From Your Home Equity?

Many homeowners are flush with equity, and tapping it can be tempting. Some lenders will let you borrow as much as 90% of your home equity — the home’s current value minus the mortgage balance — for any purpose. Your house, though, will be on the line.

Here are things to know before applying for a home equity loan, a home equity line of credit (HELOC), or a cash-out refinance.

What’s the Most You Can Borrow With a Home Equity Loan?

To determine how much you can borrow with a home equity loan, lenders will calculate the combined loan-to-value ratio: your mortgage balance plus the amount you’d like to borrow compared with the appraised value of your home.

Most lenders will require your combined loan-to-value ratio (CLTV) to be 90% or less for a home equity loan or HELOC (although some will allow you to borrow 100% of your home’s value).

combined loan balance ÷ appraised home value = CLTV

Let’s say you have a mortgage balance of $150,000 and you want to borrow $50,000 of home equity. Your combined loan balance would be $200,000. Your home appraises for $300,000. (An appraiser from the lending institution determines your property value.) The math would look like this:

$200,000 ÷ $300,000 = 0.666

Your CLTV is 67%.

If a lender allowed you to borrow 90% of CLTV in this scenario, you would have a loan of $120,000:

($150,000 + $120,000) ÷ $300,000 = 0.900

But just because you might qualify for a loan or line of credit of this amount doesn’t mean it’s a good idea for your personal situation. Consider what the payments, which include interest, would look like and whether your financial situation is secure enough for you to afford them if you suffer a setback.

Three Ways to Tap Home Equity

You paid off a chunk of your mortgage or all of it, or your home value soared along with the market, but now a wedding, college, remodel, or something else has you wanting to put that home equity to use. Here are three ways to do that.

Remember that converting home equity to cash means you’ll be using your home as collateral.

Home Equity Loan

Home equity loans come in a lump sum. They are often useful for big one-time expenses like a new car or swimming pool and for borrowers who know how much they need and who want fixed payments.

Some lenders waive or reduce closing costs of 2% to 5%, but if you pay off and close the loan within a certain period of time — often three years — you may have to repay some of those costs.

HELOC

A HELOC may be helpful for long-term needs such as home renovations, college tuition, or medical bills.

Borrowers who want flexibility when dealing with, say, a home addition may favor a revolving line of credit over a lump-sum loan.

Again, some lenders waive the closing costs for a HELOC if you keep it open for a predetermined period.

Recommended: How Do Home Equity Lines of Credit Work?

Turn your home equity into cash with a HELOC from SoFi.

Access up to 90% or $500k of your home’s equity to finance almost anything.


Cash-Out Refinance

A cash-out refinance might be a good choice if you want to borrow more than you’d qualify for with a home equity loan or HELOC. A cash-out refi replaces your existing mortgage with a new mortgage for more than the previous balance. You receive the difference in cash.

Homeowners will often need to have 20% equity left in the home after refinancing. Some lenders will let them dip below that minimum but pay for private mortgage insurance on the new loan.

Some HELOC borrowers refinance before the draw period ends. In that case, the cash can be used to pay off the HELOC.

You can change the mortgage term and aim for a reduced interest rate with a cash-out refi. Closing costs will be required; it’s a new loan.

Recommended: Cash-Out Refinance vs HELOC

What’s the Difference Between a Home Equity Loan and a HELOC?

A home equity loan, also known as a second mortgage, comes in a lump sum with a repayment term of 10 to 30 years. It typically has a fixed interest rate.

A HELOC is a revolving line of credit that lets a homeowner borrow money as needed, up to the approved credit limit. The credit line has two periods:

•   The draw period, when you can use the line of credit. It’s often 10 years. Minimum monthly payments usually will be interest only on the amount withdrawn.

•   The repayment period, often 20 years, when principal and interest payments are due.

Most HELOCs have a variable interest rate but cap how much the rate can rise at one time and over the loan term. (Some lenders, though, offer fixed-rate HELOCs or allow the borrower to fix the rate on a balance partway through the loan.)

Some HELOCs require you to draw a minimum amount upfront. Some have a balloon payment at the end of the draw period, when the loan principal and interest are due. Ensure that you understand your HELOC’s terms, and when the draw period ends and the credit line is closed.

How Is a HELOC Calculated?

Qualified borrowers are often able to access as much as 90% of their equity with a HELOC.

Some HELOC lenders require that the homeowner retain at least 20% equity in the home, but a few are more generous.

Is Taking Out Home Equity Right for You?

If you’re aware of the risk, you’ve read all the fine print, and you forecast no job or income loss, tapping home equity can be extremely useful.

HELOCs usually have lower interest rates than home equity loans, but some people prefer the fixed rate and payments of the latter. HELOC rates tend to be a tad higher than mortgage rates, but you only have to pay interest on what you borrow during the draw period.

Most cash-out refinances result in a new 30-year fixed-rate mortgage.

Approval for a home equity product and the rate you’re offered will depend on your credit score, debt-to-income ratio, home equity, and home value.

Shopping around can yield the best offer.

Recommended: Home Improvement Cost Calculator

The Takeaway

How much equity can you borrow from your home? Homeowners who meet credit and income requirements are often able to tap up to 90% of equity and sometimes more with a home equity loan or HELOC. A cash-out refi is another way to make use of home equity.

SoFi now offers flexible HELOCs. Our HELOC options allow you to access up to 95% of your home’s value, or $500,000, at competitively low rates. And the application process is quick and convenient.

Unlock your home’s value with a home equity line of credit brokered by SoFi.

FAQ

How can I increase my home equity?

Paying off your mortgage faster, refinancing to a shorter loan term, and making home improvements are some of the ways to boost home equity. In a competitive market, your home value may just naturally rise.

How quickly can I get cash from my home equity?

It depends on the product, but closing can take place in as little as two to four weeks.


SoFi Mortgages
Terms, conditions, and state restrictions apply. Not all products are available in all states. See SoFi.com/eligibility for more information.


²SoFi Bank, N.A. NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC), offers loans directly or we may assist you in obtaining a loan from SpringEQ, a state licensed lender, NMLS #1464945.
All loan terms, fees, and rates may vary based upon your individual financial and personal circumstances and state.
You should consider and discuss with your loan officer whether a Cash Out Refinance, Home Equity Loan or a Home Equity Line of Credit is appropriate. Please note that the SoFi member discount does not apply to Home Equity Loans or Lines of Credit not originated by SoFi Bank. Terms and conditions will apply. Before you apply, please note that not all products are offered in all states, and all loans are subject to eligibility restrictions and limitations, including requirements related to loan applicant’s credit, income, property, and a minimum loan amount. Lowest rates are reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. Products, rates, benefits, terms, and conditions are subject to change without notice. Learn more at SoFi.com/eligibility-criteria. Information current as of 06/27/24.
In the event SoFi serves as broker to Spring EQ for your loan, SoFi will be paid a fee.


SoFi Loan Products
SoFi loans are originated by SoFi Bank, N.A., NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC). For additional product-specific legal and licensing information, see SoFi.com/legal. Equal Housing Lender.


*SoFi requires Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) for conforming home loans with a loan-to-value (LTV) ratio greater than 80%. As little as 3% down payments are for qualifying first-time homebuyers only. 5% minimum applies to other borrowers. Other loan types may require different fees or insurance (e.g., VA funding fee, FHA Mortgage Insurance Premiums, etc.). Loan requirements may vary depending on your down payment amount, and minimum down payment varies by loan type.

Financial Tips & Strategies: The tips provided on this website are of a general nature and do not take into account your specific objectives, financial situation, and needs. You should always consider their appropriateness given your own circumstances.

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15 Questions to Ask When Interviewing Realtors

Working with a professional real estate agent can make buying or selling a home easier. After all, they are likely to be well versed in the ins and outs of your area, how to best negotiate in the current market, and how to access any other resources (say, a home inspector) that you may need.

Working with a professional real estate agent can make buying or selling a home easier. After all, they are likely to be well versed in the ins and outs of your area, how to best negotiate in the current market, and how to access any other resources (say, a home inspector) that you may need.

While there may be some agents you hit it off with personally, this isn’t a friendship you’re pursuing but an important business relationship. It’s a collaboration that could impact both your finances and your stress level.

No matter which side of a real estate transaction you’re on (buying or selling), it can be wise to have the right professional in your corner. Eighty-nine percent of homes sold in the U.S. involve an agent or a Realtor®, according to a 2023 report. (Realtors are agents who belong to the National Association of Realtors, or NAR.)

If you’re on the hunt for an agent, it’s important to know what to ask to identify the right match. Read on to learn questions to ask, whether you’re buying or selling a property — or doing both at once. (This is a lengthy list of interview questions for real estate, so pick and choose the questions that resonate the most.)

Key Points

•   Interviewing realtors requires asking targeted questions to assess their suitability for your real estate needs.

•   Experience, local market knowledge, and client load are critical factors to inquire about.

•   Understanding a realtor’s team structure and communication methods is essential for collaboration.

•   Specific questions about buying or selling processes help gauge a realtor’s expertise and alignment with your goals.

•   Discussing contract terms and fees upfront avoids future misunderstandings and ensures financial clarity.

How to Interview a Realtor

First, a bit about terminology: Not all real estate agents are Realtors, but for the purposes of this article, we’ll sometimes use the two terms interchangeably.

There are different options for interviewing Realtors. You could schedule an interview:

•   Over the phone

•   In person

•   Virtually via Zoom or Skype.

You might aim to interview at least three agents for comparison’s sake, though you may choose to interview more or fewer.

Create a list of interview questions beforehand to help you stay on track, and begin researching a home loan so you will have a sense of your budget. By the time the interview process is over, you should understand:

•   What the agent’s personality and character are like: Is this person supportive and positive? Do they sound rushed and distracted?

•   What kind of services they offer and what experience they bring to the table.

•   How much you’ll pay for their help.

You’ll learn about how to do this in more depth as you read on.

Recommended: Tips When Shopping for a Mortgage

What to Ask About a Realtor’s Background

Any real estate agent you choose to work with should have the professional qualifications you’re looking for. But it’s also important to get a sense of who they are as an individual to avoid personality clashes. Here are some questions to ask as you evaluate an agent who might help you buy or sell a home.

1. How Long Have You Been a Realtor?

It helps to understand how long an agent you’re considering working with has been buying or selling homes. The median real estate experience of all Realtors is eight years, according to NAR.

Working with an agent who’s newer to the profession isn’t necessarily a bad thing. But one who’s more experienced may be more adept at handling any challenges that arise when buying or selling a home.

2. How Well Do You Know the Local Market?

A Realtor who knows a particular area and its local housing market trends can offer an advantage when buying or selling. Ideally, you should work with an agent who understands the local market and what trends drive it.

The more informed they are, the better equipped they are to do things like comparative market analysis, which can give you a sense of how home prices in the area are trending. They will also likely know details like, say, which parts of town are more prone to flooding than others.

Recommended: Local Housing Market Trends: Popular neighborhoods, home prices, and demographics

3. How Many Clients Do You Work With at One Time?

The answer can give you an idea of how much time an agent will be able to dedicate to working with you. Especially if you ask the follow-up question, “And how many clients do you currently have?”

4. Do You Work Alone or as Part of a Team?

Keep in mind that you may not be working with your Realtor alone to finalize the purchase or sale of a home. Agents may have a team of individuals they work with, including office managers, personal assistants, or marketing directors, who may reach out to you during the process.

Asking who else you may be connected with can help you avoid surprises if you decide to enter into a working relationship with a particular agent.

5. How Will We Communicate and How Often?

Being able to communicate with an agent is important to keep the process moving. Plenty of Realtors email and text to keep in touch with clients. If you’re the kind of person who prefers phone calls or in-person meetings, it’s good to identify communication styles up front and make sure they are in sync.

6. Do You Specialize in Buying or Selling?

Some real estate agents may choose to work exclusively with buyers, while others work only with sellers. And some can act as dual agents, representing both the buyer and seller in the same transaction. Dual agency is rare, and it’s illegal in several states. A dual agent can’t take sides or give advice.

The answer to this question will help you get a better idea of whether the agent is attuned to your side of a real estate transaction. Ideally, you want someone who is passionate about your deal, whether that’s finding the perfect house with a picket fence or selling the condo you’ve outgrown.

7. How Many Transactions Did You Close Last Year?

Asking this question can give you an idea of an agent’s overall success rate and the volume of transactions they handle.

The median number of residential transactions Realtors took part in per year in 2023 is 10. If you’re interviewing agents with closings well below that number, it could be a sign that they aren’t always successful in closing deals. If their number is much higher, it could mean they are super busy and you might not get as much attention as with another agent.

8. How Long Does It Normally Take You to Close a Deal?

Once the seller and the buyer of a property have signed their purchase agreement, closing on a home can take anywhere from a week (for an all-cash offer) to a couple of months (for those involving a mortgage) to close. As of mid-2024, the average closing time on a house was 43 days after an offer was accepted, reports ICE Mortgage Technology, Inc.

Asking a Realtor what their average closing time is can give you an idea of how efficiently and diligently they work to satisfy their clients.

If their average closing time is closer to four or six months, for example, that could be a red flag, though some deals do wind up being more complicated than others.

First-time homebuyers can
prequalify for a SoFi mortgage loan,
with as little as 3% down.


9. What Are the Terms of Your Contract?

Working with a Realtor means entering into a contract, and it’s important to know what that contract says. These documents may be more common when you work with a broker to sell a home, but there are also buyer’s agreements.

These ensure that if they invest the time scanning the market for you, scheduling walk-throughs, and negotiating on your behalf, you won’t then complete the deal with, say, a relative of yours who just got their real-estate license.

When you are selling a house, you’ll sign a document agreeing that the agent will handle the sale. Once you sign a contract you’re typically locked in to working with them unless they agree to release you.

The listing agreement will last for a set period, such as three or six months. From your perspective, shorter may be better so that you’re not trapped if you don’t like the agent’s services.

10. What Fees Do You Charge?

Closely connected to contracts is the topic of money. How does it change hands? What are you liable for? Historically, real estate agents worked on commission, and the fee was paid by the seller. Now, real estate commission fees are changing, and while sellers will still likely pay agents a commission, there is no guarantee that the seller will pay the buyer’s agent. If you’re buying, you’ll need to discuss a fee structure with an agent before you begin working together. It might be an hourly fee, or perhaps a flat rate. Some agents may request a percentage of the home price.

Recommended: Do You Still Need to Put a 20% Down Payment on a House?

Questions to Ask a Realtor When You Are Selling

If you’re selling your home, here are some questions to ask to help ensure that you partner with the right agent.

11. What’s Your Typical Marketing Strategy?

A real estate agent should have a clear plan for listing and marketing your home in a way that produces the greatest odds of success in selling it quickly and at your desired price point. Let the agent you are interviewing tell you about their strategy and the results it yields.

For instance, does the Realtor believe in listing at a low price in the hopes of starting a bidding war? If so, what kinds of prices has this achieved? Where will your listing be posted? Will videos be created? Will there be an open house?

These kinds of questions can help you see if you are impressed by and aligned with how a Realtor likes to market homes.

12. Will You Handle Staging and Prep Work?

If you’re selling a home, staging it could help influence buyers’ perceptions of the property and potentially net you a higher sale price.

Staging is something you can do yourself, but your Realtor may have a staging company they work with to get the job done.

Asking about staging or small cosmetic updates, such as painting, can help you figure out what you’ll be responsible for to get your home ready for the market. There’s a price tag attached to all improvements, so you’ll want to know the numbers to be better prepared.

13. How Do You Handle Viewings?

The use of digital tools such as virtual tours have made properties more accessible to more buyers. One survey by Zillow found that almost 40% of Millenials would be comfortable buying a home online vs. in person.

See if your agent plans to create a virtual tour, but you also want to be prepared for the majority of buyers who want to visit in person. Ask Realtors how many viewings they typically schedule in a day or a week, how often open houses will be scheduled, and how they’ll be marketed.

Questions to Ask a Realtor When You Are Buying

Now you’ve learned the questions to ask a Realtor when selling. How about the other side of the deal? Whether you’re shopping for a starter home or trading up, here are a couple of important questions to ask a potential real estate agent when preparing to buy a house.

14. What Happens When I’m Ready to Make an Offer?

If you’re a buyer, agents should be able to walk you through how this process works, what to do if the seller makes a counteroffer, and what you’ll need to do next if your offer is accepted. You also want to check if they have experience with successfully navigating bidding wars, which can happen in hot markets and with well-priced properties.

Also check that they can advise you on how much earnest money you might need to pay and how to find a good, affordable home inspector, as these are important aspects of the homebuying process.

15. Will You Help Me With Getting a Mortgage?

This question will shed more light on a prospective agent’s network and experience. Agents may be able to offer recommendations for mortgage lenders. They may also be willing to communicate with your lender if there are questions about the property or the offer during underwriting.

You’re not obligated to use your Realtor’s recommended lender. In fact, it’s helpful to compare mortgage loan terms and interest rates from multiple lenders to find the option that best fits your needs.

The Takeaway

Due diligence in the search for the right real estate agent may mean interviewing a few of them and not automatically going with a friend of a friend. It’s important to know how to interview a Realtor and which questions to ask, so you can pair up with the best possible professional as you navigate this major transaction.

If you’re a buyer, once you’ve found an agent, you can turn your attention to next steps: finding a home (and a home loan) that suits your needs.

Looking for an affordable option for a home mortgage loan? SoFi can help: We offer low down payments (as little as 3% - 5%*) with our competitive and flexible home mortgage loans. Plus, applying is extra convenient: It's online, with access to one-on-one help.

SoFi Mortgages: simple, smart, and so affordable.

FAQ

What are the benefits of using a real estate agent to buy a house?

Having an agent to survey the available properties and recommend the ones that suit your needs could certainly save you time, and agents often have local market expertise and the inside scoop on properties that might be headed to market. An agent should also be well versed in the negotiation process (especially useful in a seller’s market) and able to help coordinate the many moving parts that lead to a closing.

What should a homebuyer do before talking to a real estate agent?

It’s wise to have an idea of your budget before consulting a real estate agent. You can prequalify for a mortgage with a few lenders to get a sense of what you might be able to borrow. Also do research online about your desired town or neighborhood to get a sense of where you would like to live. And know your non-negotiables — minimum number of bedrooms, whether you prefer an old home or new construction, for example.


SoFi Loan Products
SoFi loans are originated by SoFi Bank, N.A., NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC). For additional product-specific legal and licensing information, see SoFi.com/legal. Equal Housing Lender.


SoFi Mortgages
Terms, conditions, and state restrictions apply. Not all products are available in all states. See SoFi.com/eligibility for more information.


*SoFi requires Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) for conforming home loans with a loan-to-value (LTV) ratio greater than 80%. As little as 3% down payments are for qualifying first-time homebuyers only. 5% minimum applies to other borrowers. Other loan types may require different fees or insurance (e.g., VA funding fee, FHA Mortgage Insurance Premiums, etc.). Loan requirements may vary depending on your down payment amount, and minimum down payment varies by loan type.

Financial Tips & Strategies: The tips provided on this website are of a general nature and do not take into account your specific objectives, financial situation, and needs. You should always consider their appropriateness given your own circumstances.

Third-Party Brand Mentions: No brands, products, or companies mentioned are affiliated with SoFi, nor do they endorse or sponsor this article. Third-party trademarks referenced herein are property of their respective owners.

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How to Buy a House Without a Realtor

Most people you know who have bought a home have probably done so with the help of a Realtor® or real estate agent. In fact, a 2023 report shows that 89% of home purchases involve a Realtor or broker. (Realtors, by the way, are real estate agents who belong to the National Association of Realtors, requiring them to adhere to a certain code of ethics; we’ll use the terms interchangeably here.)

But agents may charge a fee, so you might be asking yourself, “Do I need a Realtor or real estate agent to buy a house?” The answer is no — you aren’t required to go through a professional to complete the transaction.

That said, doing without an agent is not a decision to make lightly. Buying a house is likely the biggest investment you’ll ever make. So if you make a mistake in the home-buying process, there’s a lot of money and possibly other risks on the line. Let’s take a look at the pros and cons of going solo as a home shopper.

What Does a Real Estate Agent Do?

Before you decide whether or not to forgo a real estate agent, it can be a good idea to brush up on what they actually do.

Real estate agents are licensed to help clients buy and sell real estate. Realtors, as mentioned, have to follow an ethics code, which includes putting their clients’ interests first.

Among the work that real estate agents do for buyers is:

•   Look for property listings that fit their clients’ goals

•   Check out listings in person

•   Write offers and counteroffers

•   Be present for inspections

•   Help negotiate with the seller

•   Troubleshoot any roadblocks that come up

They can also often help with a variety of referrals, whether to a mortgage broker, a home stager, a real estate lawyer, or a contractor.

How to Buy a House Without a Real Estate Agent

If you want to join the few buyers who forge ahead and buy a house without a Realtor, it’s important to prepare yourself to take on the tasks agents normally do.

Especially if you’re green, it’s essential to learn how you can prepare to buy a home. Here’s a rundown of some of the key responsibilities you will likely need to manage.

Step 1. Consider Your Mortgage Options

Unless you are an all-cash buyer, you’ll need to explore the different types of mortgage loans. You could get prequalified for a mortgage with several lenders so you have a sense of what size mortgage loan you might qualify for.

Step 2. Research Neighborhoods

As you zero in on neighborhoods that meet your criteria, then it’s a good idea to do your research and learn the price of recent sales. This will help you understand if the homes you tour are priced correctly — and if they fit within your budget.

Step 3. Get Preapproved For a Home Loan

As your house search starts to heat up, you’ll probably want to get preapproved for a mortgage. Once your application is processed, you’ll have a preapproval letter to share with sellers to reassure them that you’re serious about buying. The lender will consider your income, your debt-to-income ratio, credit scores, and ability to make a down payment and meet closing costs.

Step 4. Hire a Home Inspector

When you find a home you’re interested in, it’s recommended that you hire a home inspector. This professional will issue a report that lets you know the ins and outs of a home’s condition and may lead to further negotiation.

Step 5. Request a Seller’s Disclosure

Ask for a seller’s disclosure, a document that can contain information about repairs and upgrades the seller did on the home as well as problems they’re aware of. You can ask them about any structural problems; condition of the HVAC, plumbing, and electrical systems; mold and mildew; termite damage; the presence of lead paint, radon, and asbestos, and so forth.

Step 6. Make An Offer

The offer will include the amount you’re offering, what you’d like to stay in the home (such as appliances), and closing dates. Including an appraisal contingency in the offer means you can cancel the contract if something goes wrong without losing your deposit.

Recommended: How to Make An Offer On a House

Step 7. Hire a Real Estate Lawyer

It’s usually a good idea to hire a real estate lawyer to prepare documents and look over your contract before you sign it.

Step 8. Negotiate

Sellers, meanwhile, will likely include a loan contingency. During this part of the process, there may be counteroffers and negotiations between you and the seller about the price of the home or repairs you might want the seller to make. The appraiser will also file a report on the home, so that you and your lender can feel confident the home’s value matches its price. Keep copies of all communications as negotiations progress.

Step 9. Finalize Documentation and Close On Your Property

At the closing of the loan, you’ll need to sign documents and handle other aspects that a Realtor might typically help you with.

It is typically recommended that the buyer obtain owner’s title insurance, which protects the buyer against title defects such as mechanic’s liens and other after-closing problems. It usually costs about $1,000, but will vary with the price of your home and from state to state.

Recommended: How Long Does It Take to Close On a House?

First-time homebuyers can
prequalify for a SoFi mortgage loan,
with as little as 3% down.


Benefits of Buying a House Without a Realtor

Buying a home without a real estate professional can have some upsides. Here’s a closer look at the benefits you might reap.

1. Saving Money

Historically, there wasn’t much incentive for a homebuyer to work without a real estate agent because the agent’s commission fees were paid by the seller. But starting in mid-2024, the landscape changed. Now real estate commission fees are changing, and there is no guarantee that the seller will pay the buyer’s agent. Instead, the buyer and agent need to discuss a fee structure before they begin working together. You might find that an agent is paid an hourly fee, or perhaps charges a flat rate. Some agents may request a percentage of the home price.

While working without an agent may save you money, how much is up in the air. The only thing you can be certain of is that if you don’t use an agent, you will work harder to find a home and close the deal.

2. Info Galore

If you’re planning on buying a house without a Realtor, you likely have access to some of the same information that the pros do. Historically, agents had lots of insider tidbits about listings.

Now, you can instantly find out about new properties and neighborhood demographics with the click of a button online. That means taking the buying process into one’s own hands is considered by some as increasingly feasible. Plus, there are an array of great tools to help you with calculations, like a home affordability calculator.

And since no one knows what you are looking for as well as you do, the search process can sometimes be more efficient.

3. A Familiar Real Estate Deal

One situation where it might make sense to eschew an agent is if a friend or family member is selling you the property.

Although risks may still be involved, the transaction may be more straightforward if you are buying a house from a relative or someone you know well. You still want to make sure you and the seller are clear on the price, closing date, what furniture or fixtures will be included, contingencies, and more.

It is typically recommended that a buyer review and approve home inspections and obtain full loan approval in writing before lifting certain contingencies.

If it is known that a contingency date cannot be met or another material change takes place after the contract is written, such as a seller credit for closing costs, a contract addendum executed by all parties outlining the change is usually obtained.

Check out local real estate
market trends to help with
your home-buying journey.


Drawbacks of Buying Without a Realtor

Not hiring a real estate agent or Realtor to assist you with your home search comes with disadvantages and risks.

1. All the Work

You have to be constantly on the ball, keeping a lookout for properties and arranging a time with sellers to visit them.

The process can be exhausting and time consuming, and if you aren’t attentive, you could let great homes slip by or make the hunt longer than it might have been with a real estate agent.

You’ll also have to navigate the world of mortgages (from the mortgage basics to possibly buying points to bring down your rate) without an agent to serve as a sounding board or offer a second opinion.

2. All the Risk

You’ll be on the hook for all the details of the transaction. Without an agent, you’ll need to determine the correct bid price and terms, watch the contract contingency dates, and know the ins and outs of the purchase contract.

Agents are experienced in helping to point to hidden flaws in the property or transaction.

If you don’t have a real estate agent in your corner to help research the proper bid price, you may risk paying more than you need to on the home — which may work out to more money spent.

3. Your Pool of Knowledge May Not Be That Deep

Agents have access to information that’s not necessarily online, thanks to their connections with other real estate agents, inspectors, etc.

Then there’s the experience factor. Most agents operate under a seasoned broker who oversees and consults on various transactions.

It could take a lot of effort to figure out what a Realtor has learned through years on the job and ongoing education. That learning curve may not be worth your time.

Factors to Consider When You Buy Without an Agent

So now that you have read about how to buy a home without a Realtor, as well as the pros and cons, perhaps you are still thinking that flying solo is right for you. If so, do one more check-in and consider these factors:

Market Knowledge

You will not have in-depth, ongoing insight into housing prices in the area where you are searching. A Realtor can help you understand pricing history, potential upcoming property-tax hikes, local drainage or flood potential, and more. They are often skilled at pointing out distinctive features as well as potential problem areas with homes.

Negotiation Strategy

Real estate agents typically have years of experience knowing when a home seller is negotiable and by how much. They can guide you through offers and counteroffers, as well as bidding wars. They also know next steps if a home inspection points out significant problem areas or if there are hitches as you work through your mortgage contingencies. This can save you time and stress, as well as keep your deal in play.

Red Tape and Paperwork

Bidding on and purchasing a home involves all kinds of paperwork, including mortgage applications, offers, contracts, title searches, and more. For someone who is not familiar with the process (you, quite possibly), this can be a steep, time-consuming, and possibly frustrating learning curve. A Realtor can help alleviate a chunk of this burden.

Professional Connections

As noted above, it can take a village of professionals to finalize a home sale. Some of the people who may be involved include mortgage brokers, home inspectors, roof inspectors, real estate lawyers, contractors, and more. Most real estate agents have an extensive network to quickly get you the connections you need to qualified professionals.

The Takeaway

Do you need a real estate agent to buy a house? No, you don’t. It’s entirely possible to learn how to buy a home without a Realtor and perhaps avoid paying for the agent’s time and expertise. Just realize all of the work and risk involved in finding a home, making an offer, handling contingencies, and closing the deal.

Looking for an affordable option for a home mortgage loan? SoFi can help: We offer low down payments (as little as 3% - 5%*) with our competitive and flexible home mortgage loans. Plus, applying is extra convenient: It's online, with access to one-on-one help.

SoFi Mortgages: simple, smart, and so affordable.

FAQ

Can you make an offer on a house without a real estate agent?

A buyer is not required to be represented by a real estate agent in order to make an offer on a house, but unless the house is for sale by owner, you’ll need to work with the seller’s agent to communicate your offer to the owner.

Does buying a house without a real estate agent reduce the price?

Not necessarily. Even if you, as the buyer, are not represented by a real estate agent, the seller may use an agent to list and show the home and process offers.


SoFi Mortgages
Terms, conditions, and state restrictions apply. Not all products are available in all states. See SoFi.com/eligibility for more information.


*SoFi requires Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) for conforming home loans with a loan-to-value (LTV) ratio greater than 80%. As little as 3% down payments are for qualifying first-time homebuyers only. 5% minimum applies to other borrowers. Other loan types may require different fees or insurance (e.g., VA funding fee, FHA Mortgage Insurance Premiums, etc.). Loan requirements may vary depending on your down payment amount, and minimum down payment varies by loan type.

SoFi Loan Products
SoFi loans are originated by SoFi Bank, N.A., NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC). For additional product-specific legal and licensing information, see SoFi.com/legal. Equal Housing Lender.


Financial Tips & Strategies: The tips provided on this website are of a general nature and do not take into account your specific objectives, financial situation, and needs. You should always consider their appropriateness given your own circumstances.

Third-Party Brand Mentions: No brands, products, or companies mentioned are affiliated with SoFi, nor do they endorse or sponsor this article. Third-party trademarks referenced herein are property of their respective owners.

This article is not intended to be legal advice. Please consult an attorney for advice.

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