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What Is a Conventional Loan?

For about 74% of homebuyers, purchasing a home means taking out a mortgage — and a conventional 30-year fixed-rate mortgage is the most popular kind of financing. So what is a conventional mortgage loan?

Conventional mortgages are those that are not insured or guaranteed by the government.

But the fact that conventional mortgages are so popular doesn’t mean that a conventional home loan is right for everyone. Here, learn more about what a conventional home loan is and how it compares to other options, including:

•   How do conventional mortgages work?

•   What are the different types of conventional loans?

•   How do conventional loans compare to other mortgages?

•   What are the pros and cons of conventional mortgages?

•   How do you qualify for a conventional loan?

Key Points

•   A conventional mortgage is a loan not backed by the government.

•   Offered by private lenders, a conventional mortgage can have a fixed or adjustable interest rate.

•   Qualifications for conventional loans are typically stricter than those for government-backed loans.

•   Private mortgage insurance is often required for down payments less than 20%.

•   Conforming loans must follow guidelines set by Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.

How Conventional Mortgages Work

How does a conventional mortgage work? Conventional mortgages are home loans that are not backed by a government agency. Provided by private lenders, they are the most common type of home loan. A few points to note:

•   Conventional loans are offered by banks, credit unions, and mortgage companies, as well as by two government-sponsored enterprises, known as Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. (Note: Government-sponsored and government-backed loans are two different things.)

•   Conventional mortgages tend to have a higher barrier to entry than government-guaranteed home loans. Because of what a conventional mortgage loan is – a loan that you are personally responsible for repaying – lenders want to feel secure that you’ll be able to make good. You might need a better credit score and pay more in interest, for example. Government-backed FHA loans, VA loans, and USDA loans, on the other hand, are designed for certain kinds of homebuyers or homes and are often easier to qualify for. You’ll learn more about them below.

•   Among conventional loans, you’ll find substantial variety. You’ll have a choice of term length (how long you have to pay off the loan with installments), and you’ll probably have a choice between fixed-rate and adjustable-rate products. Keep reading for more detail on these options.

•   Because the government isn’t offering any assurances to the lender that you will pay back that loan, you’ll need to prove you are a good risk. That’s why lenders look at things like your credit score and down payment amount when deciding whether to offer you a conventional mortgage and at what rate.

First-time homebuyers can
prequalify for a SoFi mortgage loan,
with as little as 3% down.

Questions? Call (888)-541-0398.


Conventional vs Conforming Loans

As you pursue a home loan, you’ll likely hear the phrases “conventional loan” and “conforming loan.” Are they the same thing? Not exactly. Let’s spell out the difference:

•   A conforming loan is one in which the underlying terms and conditions adhere to the funding criteria of Freddie Mac and Fannie Mae. There’s a limit to how big the loan can be, and this figure is determined each year by the Federal Housing Finance Agency, or FHFA. For 2026, that ceiling is set at $832,750 for a one-family home in most of the United States. (It is a higher number for those purchasing in certain high-cost areas; you can see the limit for your specific location on the FHFA web site.)

So all conforming loans are conventional loans. But what is a conventional mortgage may not be conforming. If, for instance, you apply for a jumbo mortgage (meaning one that’s more than $832,750 in 2026), you’d be hoping to be approved for a conventional loan. It would not, however, be a conforming mortgage because the amount is over the limit that Freddie Mac or Fannie Mae would back.

Types of Conventional Loans

When you’re researching, “What is a conventional loan?” you’ll learn that it’s not just one single product. There are many options, such as how long a term (you may look at 15- and 30-year, as well as other time frames). Perhaps one of the most important decisions is whether you want to opt for a fixed or adjustable rate.

Fixed Rate Conventional Loans

A conventional loan with a fixed interest rate is one in which the rate won’t change over the life of the loan. If you have one of these “fully amortized conventional loans,” as they are sometimes called, your monthly principal and interest payment will stay the same each month.

Although fixed-rate loans can provide predictability when it comes to payments, they may have higher interest rates than the initial ones offered by adjustable-rate mortgages.

Fixed-rate conventional loans can be a great option for homebuyers during periods of low rates because they can lock in a rate and it won’t rise, even decades from now.

Adjustable Rate Conventional Loans

Adjustable-rate mortgages (sometimes called variable rate loans) have the same interest rate for a set period of time, and then the rate will adjust for the rest of the loan term.

The major upside to choosing an ARM is that the initial rate is usually set below prevailing interest rates and remains constant for a specific amount of time, from six months to 10 years.

There’s a bit of lingo to learn with these loans. A 7/6 ARM of 30 years will have a fixed rate for the first seven years, and then the rate will adjust once every six months over the remaining 23 years, keeping in sync with prevailing rates. A 5/1 ARM will have a fixed rate for five years, followed by a variable rate that adjusts every year.

An ARM may be a good option if you’re not planning on staying in the home that long. The downside, of course, is that if you do stay put, your interest rate could end up higher than you want it to be.

Most adjustable-rate conventional mortgages have limits on how much the interest rate can increase over time. These caps protect a borrower from facing an unexpectedly steep rate hike.

Also, read the fine print and see if your introductory rate will adjust downward if rates shift lower over the course of the loan. Don’t assume they will.

Recommended: Fixed-Rate vs Adjustable-Rate Mortgages

How Are Conventional Home Loans Different From Other Loans?

Wondering how a conventional loan works vs. government-backed loans? Keep reading to learn more.

Conventional Loans vs. FHA Loans

Not sure if a conventional or FHA loan is better for you? FHA loans are geared toward lower- and middle-income buyers; these mortgages can offer a more affordable way to join the ranks of homeowners. Unlike conventional loans, FHA loans are insured by the Federal Housing Administration, so lenders take on less risk. If a borrower defaults, the FHA will help the lender recoup some of the lost costs.

But are FHA loans right for you, the borrower? Here are some of the key differences between FHA loans and conventional ones:

•   FHA loans are usually easier to qualify for. Conventional loans typically need a credit score of at least 620 and at least 3% down. With an FHA loan, you may get approved with a credit score as low as 500 with 10% down or 580 if you put down 3.5%.

•   Unlike conventional loans, FHA loans are limited to a certain amount of money, depending on the geographic location of the house you’re buying. The lender administering the FHA loan can impose its own requirements as well.

•   An FHA loan can be a good option for a buyer with a lower credit score, but it also will require a more rigorous home appraisal and possibly a longer approval process than a conventional loan.

•   Conventional loans require private mortgage insurance (PMI) if the down payment is less than 20%, but PMI will terminate once you reach 22% equity. FHA loans, however, require mortgage insurance for the life of the loan if you put less than 10% down.

Recommended: Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) vs Mortgage Insurance Premium (MIP)

Conventional Loans vs VA Loans

Not everyone has the choice between conventional and VA loans, which are backed by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Conventional loans are available to all who qualify, but VA loans are only accessible to those who are veterans, active-duty military, National Guard or Reserve members, or surviving spouses of those who served.

VA loans offer a number of perks that conventional loans don’t:

•   No down payment is needed.

•   No PMI is required, which is a good thing, because it’s typically anywhere from 0.46% to 1.5% of the original loan amount per year.

There are a couple of potential drawbacks to be aware of:

•   Most VA loans demand that you pay what’s known as a funding fee. This is typically 1.25% to 3.3% of the loan amount.

•   A VA loan must be used for a primary residence; no second homes are eligible.

Conventional Loans vs USDA Loans

Curious if you should apply for a USDA loan vs. a conventional loan? Consider this: No matter where in America your dream house is, you can likely apply for a conventional loan. Loans backed by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, however, are only available for use when buying a property in a qualifying rural area. The goal is to encourage people to move into certain areas and help them along with accessible loans. (Note: SoFi does not offer USDA loans, but we do offer FHA and VA loans.)

Beyond this stipulation, consider these upsides of USDA loans vs. conventional loans:

•   USDA loans can offer a very affordable interest rate versus other loans.

•   USDA loans are available without a down payment.

•   These loans don’t require PMI.

But, to provide full disclosure, there are some downsides, beyond limited geographic availability:

•   USDA loans have income-based eligibility requirements. The loans are designed for lower- and middle-income potential home buyers, but the exact cap on income will depend on your geographic area and how many household members you have.

•   This program requires that the loan holder pay a guarantee fee, which is typically 1% of the loan’s total amount.

Pros and Cons of Conventional Mortgage Loans

Now that you’ve learned what a conventional home loan is and how it compares to some other options, let’s do a quick recap of the pros and cons of conventional loans.

Benefits of Conventional Loans

The upsides are:

•   Competitive rates. Rates may seem high, but they are still far from their high point of 16.63% in 1981. Plus, lenders want your business and you may be able to find attractive offers. You can use a mortgage calculator to see how even a small adjustment in interest rates can impact your monthly payments and interest payments over the life of the loan.

•   The ability to buy with little money down. Some conventional mortgages can be had with just 3% down for first-time homebuyers.

•   PMI isn’t forever. Once you have achieved 22% equity in your property, your PMI can be canceled.

•   Flexibility. There are different conventional mortgages to suit your needs, such as fixed- and variable-rate home loans. Also, these mortgages can be used for primary residences (whether single- or multi-family), second homes, and other variations.

Drawbacks of Conventional Loans

Now, the downsides of conventional loans:

•   PMI. If your mortgage involves a small down payment, you do have to pay that PMI until you reach a target number, such as 2% equity.

•   Tougher qualifications vs. government programs. You’ll usually need a credit score of 620 and, with that number, your rate will likely be higher than it would be if you had a higher score.

•   Stricter debt-to-income (DTI) ratio requirements. It’s likely that lenders will want to see a 45% DTI ratio. (DTI is your total monthly recurring payments divided by your monthly gross income.) Government programs have less rigorous qualifications.

The Takeaway

A conventional home loan — meaning a loan not guaranteed by the government — is a very popular option for homebuyers, so it’s important to understand how conventional loans work. These mortgages have their pros and cons, as well as variations. It’s also important to know how they differ from government-backed loans, so you can choose the right product to suit your needs. Buying a home is a major step and a big investment, so you want to get the mortgage that suits you best.

Looking for an affordable option for a home mortgage loan? SoFi can help: We offer low down payments (as little as 3% - 5%*) with our competitive and flexible home mortgage loans. Plus, applying is extra convenient: It's online, with access to one-on-one help.

SoFi Mortgages: simple, smart, and so affordable.

FAQ

What is the minimum down payment for a conventional loan?

In most cases, 3% of the purchase price is the lowest amount possible and that minimum is usually reserved for first-time homebuyers — a group that can include people who have not purchased a primary residence in the last three years.

How many conventional loans can you have?

A lot! The Federal National Mortgage Association (FNMA, aka Fannie Mae) allows a person to have up to 10 properties with conventional financing. Just remember, you’ll have to convince a lender that you are a good risk for each and every loan.

Do all conventional loans require PMI?

Most lenders require PMI (private mortgage insurance) if you are putting less than 20% down when purchasing a property. However, you may find some PMI-free loans available. They typically have a higher interest rate, though, so make sure they are worthwhile given your particular situation.

What is required to apply for a conventional home loan?

While different conventional mortgage lenders may have different requirements, typically they like borrowers who can put down a substantial down payment (though not necessarily as much as 20%), have a credit rating of 620 or more, and can show that they’ll be able to afford their monthly mortgage payments.

Can you buy a foreclosed home with a conventional loan?

You can buy many kinds of foreclosed homes with a conventional mortgage. However, if you purchase a foreclosure on auction, you will probably need to pay for it in cash. Depending on your eligibility, you may also be able to use an FHA loan, a VA loan, or a USDA loan. If you’re planning to get financing for a foreclosure, it may be a good idea to get preapproved in advance so you’ll be ready when you find a property you like.

Is a home inspection required for a conventional loan?

Typically, home inspections are not required for conventional loans. However, individual lenders may require or suggest a home inspection at their discretion. They may also want an appraisal to determine the fair market value of the house, but that will not generally check for the kind of issues a home inspection should find, like structural problems or systems that aren’t working well.

What is the maximum loan amount for a conventional loan?

Technically, there is no maximum loan amount for a conventional loan. However, mortgages acquired by Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac must be for no more than the conforming loan limits, which are issued every year. For 2026, the conforming loan limit on a one-family residence mortgage in most parts of the U.S. is $832,750.


SoFi Loan Products
SoFi loans are originated by SoFi Bank, N.A., NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC). For additional product-specific legal and licensing information, see SoFi.com/legal. Equal Housing Lender.


SoFi Mortgages
Terms, conditions, and state restrictions apply. Not all products are available in all states. See SoFi.com/eligibility-criteria for more information.



*SoFi requires Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) for conforming home loans with a loan-to-value (LTV) ratio greater than 80%. As little as 3% down payments are for qualifying first-time homebuyers only. 5% minimum applies to other borrowers. Other loan types may require different fees or insurance (e.g., VA funding fee, FHA Mortgage Insurance Premiums, etc.). Loan requirements may vary depending on your down payment amount, and minimum down payment varies by loan type.

¹FHA loans are subject to unique terms and conditions established by FHA and SoFi. Ask your SoFi loan officer for details about eligibility, documentation, and other requirements. FHA loans require an Upfront Mortgage Insurance Premium (UFMIP), which may be financed or paid at closing, in addition to monthly Mortgage Insurance Premiums (MIP). Maximum loan amounts vary by county. The minimum FHA mortgage down payment is 3.5% for those who qualify financially for a primary purchase. SoFi is not affiliated with any government agency.
Veterans, Service members, and members of the National Guard or Reserve may be eligible for a loan guaranteed by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. VA loans are subject to unique terms and conditions established by VA and SoFi. Ask your SoFi loan officer for details about eligibility, documentation, and other requirements. VA loans typically require a one-time funding fee except as may be exempted by VA guidelines. The fee may be financed or paid at closing. The amount of the fee depends on the type of loan, the total amount of the loan, and, depending on loan type, prior use of VA eligibility and down payment amount. The VA funding fee is typically non-refundable. SoFi is not affiliated with any government agency.
Third-Party Brand Mentions: No brands, products, or companies mentioned are affiliated with SoFi, nor do they endorse or sponsor this article. Third-party trademarks referenced herein are property of their respective owners.

Financial Tips & Strategies: The tips provided on this website are of a general nature and do not take into account your specific objectives, financial situation, and needs. You should always consider their appropriateness given your own circumstances.

External Websites: The information and analysis provided through hyperlinks to third-party websites, while believed to be accurate, cannot be guaranteed by SoFi. Links are provided for informational purposes and should not be viewed as an endorsement.

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LTV 101: Why Your Loan-to-Value Ratio Matters

If you are planning on applying for a home loan or for a mortgage refinance, you are likely going to want to know your loan-to-value (LTV) ratio. This is calculated by dividing the loan principal by the value of the property. It’s an important metric when you’re getting a mortgage approved because it reflects how much of the property’s value you are borrowing. A higher number may be seen as a riskier proposition by prospective lenders.

Here, you’ll learn the ins and outs of calculating LTV, why it matters, and how it can have a financial impact over the life of a loan.

Key Points

•   The loan-to-value (LTV) ratio is important in mortgage lending, affecting loan approval and terms.

•   Lower LTV ratios generally result in more favorable interest rates, lowering borrowing costs.

•   Higher LTV ratios often necessitate private mortgage insurance (PMI), increasing expenses.

•   Strategies to reduce LTV include making a larger down payment and enhancing property value.

•   LTV changes over time as the loan balance decreases or property value fluctuates.

LTV, a Pertinent Percentage

The relationship between the loan amount and the value of the asset securing that loan constitutes LTV.

To find the loan-to-value ratio, divide the loan amount (aka the loan principal) by the value of the property.

LTV = (Loan Value / Property Value) x 100

Here’s an example: Say you want to buy a $200,000 home. You have $20,000 set aside as a down payment and need to take out a $180,000 mortgage. So here’s what your LTV calculation looks like:

180,000 / 200,000 = 0.9 or 90%

Here’s another example: You want to refinance your mortgage (which means getting a new home loan, hopefully at a lower interest rate). Your home is valued at $350,000, and your mortgage balance is $220,000.

220,000 / 350,000 = 0.628 or 63%

As the LTV percentage increases, the risk to the lender increases.

Why Does LTV Matter?

Two major components of a mortgage loan can be affected by LTV: the interest rate and private mortgage insurance (PMI).

Interest Rate

LTV, in conjunction with your income, financial history, and credit score, is a major factor in determining how much a loan will cost.

When a lender writes a loan that is close to the value of the property, the perceived risk of default is higher because the borrower has little equity built up and therefore little to lose.

Should the property go into foreclosure, the lender may be unable to recoup the money it lent. Because of this, lenders prefer borrowers with lower LTVs and will often reward them with better interest rates.

Though a 20% down payment is not essential for loan approval, someone with an 80% LTV or lower is likely to get a more competitive rate than a similar borrower with a 90% LTV.

The same goes for a refinance or home equity line of credit: If you have 20% equity in your home, or at least 80% LTV, you’re more likely to get a better rate.

If you’ve ever run the numbers on mortgage loans, you know that a rate difference of 1% could amount to thousands of dollars paid in interest over the life of the loan.

Let’s look at an example in which two people are applying for loans on identical $300,000 properties.

Barb:

•   Puts 20%, or $60,000, down, so their LTV is 80%. (240,000 / 300,000 = 80%)

•   Gets approved for a 6.50% interest rate on a 30-year fixed-rate mortgage

•   Will pay $306,107 in interest over the life of the loan

Bill:

•   Puts 10%, or $30,000, down, so their LTV is 90%. (270,000 / 300,000 = 90%)

•   Gets approved for a 7.50% interest rate on a 30-year fixed-rate mortgage

•  Will pay $281,891 in interest over the life of the loan

Bill will pay $103,530 more in interest than Barb, though it is true that Bill also has a larger loan and pays more in interest because of that.

So let’s compare apples to apples: Let’s assume that Bill is also putting $60,000 down and taking out a $240,000 loan, but that loan interest rate remains at 7.50%. Now, Bill pays $364,121 in interest;

The 1% difference in interest rates means Bill will pay nearly $58,014 more over the life of the loan than Barb will. (It’s worth noting that there are costs when you refinance a mortgage; it’s a new loan, with closing expenses.)

Mortgage CalculatorMortgage Calculator



💡 Quick Tip: You deserve a more zen mortgage loan. When you buy a home, SoFi offers a guarantee that your loan will close on time. Backed by a $10,000 credit.‡

PMI or Private Mortgage Insurance

Your LTV ratio also determines whether you’ll be required to pay for private mortgage insurance, or PMI. PMI helps protect your lender in the event that your house is foreclosed on and the lender assumes a loss in the process.

Your lender will charge you for PMI until your LTV reaches 78% (by law, if payments are current) or 80% (by request).

PMI can be a substantial added cost, typically ranging anywhere from 0.1% to 2% of the value of the loan per year. Using our example from above, a $270,000 loan at 7.50% with a 1% PMI rate translates to $225 per month for PMI, or about $18,800 in PMI paid until 20% equity is reached.

Recommended: Understanding the Different Types of Mortgage Loans

How Does LTV Change?

LTV changes when either the value of the property or the value of the loan changes.

If you’re a homeowner, the value of your property fluctuates with evolving market pressures. If you thought the value of your property increased significantly since your last home appraisal, you could have another appraisal done to document this. You could also potentially increase your home value through remodels or additions.

The balance of your loan should decrease over time as you make monthly mortgage payments, and this will lower your LTV. If you made a large payment toward your mortgage, that would significantly lower your LTV.

Whether through an increase in your property value or by reducing the loan, decreasing your LTV provides you with at least two possible money-saving options: the removal of PMI and/or refinancing to a lower rate.

💡 Quick Tip: Generally, the lower your debt-to-income ratio, the better loan terms you’ll be offered. One way to improve your ratio is to increase your income (hello, side hustle!). Another way is to consolidate your debt and lower your monthly debt payments.

The Takeaway

The loan-to-value ratio affects two big components of a mortgage loan: the interest rate and private mortgage insurance. A lower LTV percentage typically translates into more borrower benefits and less money spent over the life of the loan.

Looking for an affordable option for a home mortgage loan? SoFi can help: We offer low down payments (as little as 3% - 5%*) with our competitive and flexible home mortgage loans. Plus, applying is extra convenient: It's online, with access to one-on-one help.

SoFi Mortgages: simple, smart, and so affordable.

FAQ

Why is the loan-to-value ratio important?

Mortgage lenders use the loan-to-value ratio (LTV) to evaluate how much they are willing to lend you and what interest rate they will offer. A high LTV tends to translate into a high interest rate, which can increase the costs of your mortgage payments significantly.

How can I reduce my LTV?

A good way to lower your loan-to-value ratio is to make a larger down payment. That will reduce the amount of your loan. While it can be challenging to make a large down payment, doing so is likely to mean that you are offered better interest rates and will be charged smaller monthly payments.

How does LTV affect PMI?

For a conventional mortgage, most lenders prefer borrowers to have a loan-to-value (LTV) ratio of less than 80%. If you put less than 20% down on a house for such a loan, you will probably have to pay private mortgage insurance (PMI).



*SoFi requires Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) for conforming home loans with a loan-to-value (LTV) ratio greater than 80%. As little as 3% down payments are for qualifying first-time homebuyers only. 5% minimum applies to other borrowers. Other loan types may require different fees or insurance (e.g., VA funding fee, FHA Mortgage Insurance Premiums, etc.). Loan requirements may vary depending on your down payment amount, and minimum down payment varies by loan type.

SoFi On-Time Close Guarantee: If all conditions of the Guarantee are met, and your loan does not close on or before the closing date on your purchase contract accepted by SoFi, and the delay is due to SoFi, SoFi will give you a credit toward closing costs or additional expenses caused by the delay in closing of up to $10,000.^ The following terms and conditions apply. This Guarantee is available only for loan applications submitted after 04/01/2024. Please discuss terms of this Guarantee with your loan officer. The mortgage must be a purchase transaction that is approved and funded by SoFi. This Guarantee does not apply to loans to purchase bank-owned properties or short-sale transactions. To qualify for the Guarantee, you must: (1) Sign up for access to SoFi’s online portal and upload all requested documents, (2) Submit documents requested by SoFi within 5 business days of the initial request and all additional doc requests within 2 business days (3) Submit an executed purchase contract on an eligible property with the closing date at least 25 calendar days from the receipt of executed Intent to Proceed and receipt of credit card deposit for an appraisal (30 days for VA loans; 40 days for Jumbo loans), (4) Lock your loan rate and satisfy all loan requirements and conditions at least 5 business days prior to your closing date as confirmed with your loan officer, and (5) Pay for and schedule an appraisal within 48 hours of the appraiser first contacting you by phone or email. This Guarantee will not be paid if any delays to closing are attributable to: a) the borrower(s), a third party, the seller or any other factors outside of SoFi control; b) if the information provided by the borrower(s) on the loan application could not be verified or was inaccurate or insufficient; c) attempting to fulfill federal/state regulatory requirements and/or agency guidelines; d) or the closing date is missed due to acts of God outside the control of SoFi. SoFi may change or terminate this offer at any time without notice to you. *To redeem the Guarantee if conditions met, see documentation provided by loan officer.

SoFi Mortgages
Terms, conditions, and state restrictions apply. Not all products are available in all states. See SoFi.com/eligibility-criteria for more information.


SoFi Loan Products
SoFi loans are originated by SoFi Bank, N.A., NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC). For additional product-specific legal and licensing information, see SoFi.com/legal. Equal Housing Lender.


Financial Tips & Strategies: The tips provided on this website are of a general nature and do not take into account your specific objectives, financial situation, and needs. You should always consider their appropriateness given your own circumstances.

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Short Term vs. Long Term Disability Insurance

Your income is one of your biggest assets, and losing it can quickly take a toll on your financial wellbeing. Disability insurance can offer an important safety net because it pays you a percentage of your salary if an illness or injury ever prevents you from working.

There are two main types of disability insurance: short-term disability insurance, often offered through employers, and long-term disability insurance, which may be purchased separately. As their names imply, short-term disability insurance lasts for a shorter period of time than long-term disability insurance.

But there are other key differences between short-term and long-term disability, including how quickly coverage kicks in and cost.

Here, we’ll take a close look at both types of disability insurance.

Key Points

•   Short-term disability insurance covers a few months, with benefits starting after a 14-day elimination period.

•   Long-term disability insurance provides benefits for years or until retirement, with a longer elimination period.

•   Short-term disability insurance is often available through employers at low cost, typically 1% to 3% of annual salary.

•   Long-term disability insurance is widely available from private insurers, with costs and options varying based on policy terms.

•   Combining both types of insurance helps ensure continuous financial support and minimize income gaps during extended disability periods.

What Is Short Term Disability Insurance?

Short-term disability insurance (also called short-term disability income insurance, or STDI) is a type of insurance that will provide supplemental income in the event of an injury or illness that keeps you from working. The length of time you can receive benefits (or supplemental income), is known as the benefit period.

Short term disability policies typically have a benefit period of three to six months, though some may last up to a year. The shorter the benefit period, the less you or your employer will pay in premiums for coverage.

Benefits vary by plan, but these policies typically pay anywhere between 50% to 70% of your pre-disability salary during that time.

Disability policies also have specific start dates when your payments begin. The waiting period is typically referred to as the elimination period.

Short-term disability policies often have an elimination period of 14 days, though it can range from 7 to 30 days. That means payments would start 14 days after your disability occurs, or from the last day you were able to work.

Some employers have policies that require employees to take all of their sick days or, if the injury happened on the job, workers’ compensation benefits, before short-term disability is paid. Employers may also require you to show proof from a doctor that you have undergone an illness or injury that prohibits you from working.

They also may require you to see an approved healthcare provider for regular updates on your condition while you are out of work. Many of the rules for short-term disability coverage are determined by your state.

Recommended: Own Occupation vs Any Occupation Disability Insurance, Explained

How Do I Purchase Short Term Disability Insurance?

Most commonly, people get disability insurance through their employer. Companies often offer this benefit for no or very low cost.

In some states it’s mandatory for employers to offer this. Employees may pay a small fee from payroll deductions. Your employer is generally the easiest and most cost-efficient way to get short-term disability insurance.

If you are self-employed, or your employer doesn’t offer this benefit, you may be able to purchase short-term disability insurance from a private insurer. The hitch is that few carriers offer private short-term insurance and, if they do, it tends to be costly.

You could pay anywhere from 1% to 3% of your annual salary for a benefit that may only last a few weeks or months. You may find it makes more sense to invest in long-term disability insurance.

What Is Long Term Disability Insurance?

Long-term disability insurance — also known as long-term disability income insurance or LTDI — is an insurance policy that protects employees from loss of income in the event that they are unable to work due to an illness, injury, or accident for a long period of time.

The benefit period, or the amount of time you’ll receive benefits, for long-term disability insurance is often a choice of 5, 10, or 20 years, or even until you reach retirement age, depending on the plan. In general, the longer the benefit period, the more you’ll pay in premiums.

Long-term disability insurance typically pays about 50% to 70% of your pre-disability salary, depending on the policy. In most cases, the higher that number, the higher the premium. Some policies will also make up the gap in your income if you must return to work at a lower-wage job because of an illness or injury. That coverage may also come with a higher premium.

The elimination period (the amount of time you must wait until benefits begin) for long-term disability insurance usually includes several options, including 30, 60, 90, 180 days, or a full year. In general, the longer the elimination period, the less you will pay in premiums. The most common elimination period is 90 days. But if you can’t afford a policy with that elimination period, you may be able to reduce your premium costs by electing a longer period of time until benefits start.

You may want to keep in mind, however, that a longer elimination period means that you would have to go without income for a longer period of time, and might need to have savings or other resources to cover living expenses.

Each long-term disability insurance policy has different conditions for payout, diseases or pre-existing conditions that may be excluded, and various other conditions that make the policy more or less useful to an employee. Some policies, for example, will pay disability benefits if the employee is unable to work in his or her current profession. Others expect that the employee will take any job that the employee is capable of doing — that’s a big difference and could be consequential to the employee.

Recommended: Everything You Need To Know About Getting a Loan While on Disability

How Do I Purchase Long Term Disability Insurance?

Some employers offer subsidized long-term disability insurance policies to employees at discounted group rates. If your employer doesn’t offer this, you may be able to purchase long-term disability insurance from a private insurer. Unlike short term disability insurance, these policies are widely available. Also, unlike short-term disability insurance, private insurers typically offer individuals a range of long-term disability policies to choose from.

Long-term disability insurance is also sometimes available for purchase through professional associations, potentially at discounted group rates. The cost of long-term disability insurance can vary depending on the benefit period, the elimination period, your age, health, occupation, along with other factors. In general, these policies tend to run between 1% and 3% of your annual salary. This is about the same as if you purchased a short-term disability policy outside of your employer.

If you were to use the insurance, however, you would benefit for years, not months, making long-term disability insurance more cost-efficient than short-term disability insurance.

Do I Need Short Term Disability if I Have Long Term Disability?

When possible, it can be beneficial to pair short term and long term disability insurance together.

Short-term disability is intended to cover you immediately following a serious illness or injury, and long-term disability insurance is intended to maintain supplemental income if your condition keeps you out of work past the end of your short-term disability benefit period, even to retirement, depending on your plan.

If you have both short-term and long-term disability policies in place, short-term disability can pay you benefits during the elimination or waiting period before your long-term disability coverage begins, at which point you would transition from one policy to the next to receive benefits.

The combination can help you achieve the smallest possible income gap should you need to use disability insurance.

The best combination for you will depend on what options your employer offers, how much money you have saved in an emergency fund, and what you may be able to afford to purchase on your own.

The Takeaway

Disability income insurance offers an important way to protect your livelihood should you find you can no longer work at the same capacity you were expecting. The primary distinction between short- and long-term disability insurance is the coverage period.

Short term policies generally cover just the first few months you’re unable to work. Long-term policies, on the other hand, can last for years — decades even — after you’re unable to work and may see you through retirement. Because long term disability insurance benefits don’t start right away, it can be beneficial to pair long term disability benefits with short term disability insurance.

When the unexpected happens, it’s good to know you have a plan to protect your loved ones and your finances. SoFi has teamed up with some of the best insurance companies in the industry to provide members with fast, easy, and reliable insurance.

Find affordable auto, life, homeowners, and renters insurance with SoFi Protect.



Financial Tips & Strategies: The tips provided on this website are of a general nature and do not take into account your specific objectives, financial situation, and needs. You should always consider their appropriateness given your own circumstances.

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What Is a HELOC and How Does It Work?

If you own a home, you may be interested in tapping into your available home equity. One popular way to do that is with a home equity line of credit (HELOC). What is a HELOC? Well, for starters, it’s different from a home equity loan. But like a home equity loan, it can help you finance a major renovation or cover other expenses.

Homeowners sitting on at least 20% equity — the home’s market value minus what is owed — may be able to secure a HELOC. Let’s take a look at how a HELOC works, the pros and cons, and what alternatives to HELOC might be.

Key Points

•   A HELOC provides borrowers with cash via a revolving credit line, typically with variable interest rates.

•   The draw period of a HELOC is 10 years, followed by repayment of principal plus interest.

•   Funds can be used for home renovations, personal expenses, debt consolidation, and more.

•   Alternatives to a HELOC include cash-out refinancing and home equity loans.

•   HELOCs offer flexibility, but remember that variable interest rates may result in increased monthly payments, and a borrower who doesn’t repay the HELOC could find their home at risk.

How Does a HELOC Work?

The purpose of a HELOC is to tap your home equity to get some cash to use on a variety of expenses. Home equity lines of credit offer what’s known as a revolving line of credit, similar to a credit card, and usually have low or no closing costs. The interest rate is likely to be variable (more on that in a minute), and the amount available is typically up to 90% of your home’s value, minus whatever you may still owe on your mortgage. (You can roughly calculate home equity before you apply for a HELOC by using online property estimates; ultimately your lender will likely do an appraisal.)

Once you secure a HELOC with a lender, you can draw against your approved credit line as needed until your draw period ends, which is usually 10 years. You then repay the balance over another 10 or 20 years, or refinance to a new loan. Worth noting: Payments may be low during the draw period; you might be paying interest only. You would then face steeper monthly payments during the repayment phase. Carefully review the details when applying.

Here’s a look at what is a HELOC good for:

•   HELOCs can be used for anything but are commonly used to cover big home expenses, like a home remodeling costs or building an addition. The average cost of a bathroom remodel topped $12,000 in 2025 according to Angi, while a kitchen remodel was, on average, almost $27,000.

•   Personal spending: If, for example, you are laid off, you could tap your HELOC for cash to pay bills. Or you might dip into the line of credit to pay for a wedding (you only pay interest on the funds you are using, not the approved limit).

•   A HELOC can also be used to consolidate high-interest debt. Whatever homeowners use a home equity credit line for — investing in a new business, taking a dream vacation, funding a college education — they need to remember that they are using their home as collateral. That means if they can’t keep up with payments, the lender may force the sale of the home to satisfy the debt.

HELOC Options

Most HELOCs offer a variable interest rate, but you may have a choice. Here are the two main options:

•   Fixed Rate: With a fixed-rate home equity line of credit, the interest rate is set and does not change. That means your monthly payments won’t vary either. You can use a HELOC interest calculator to see what your payments would look like based on your interest rate, how much of the credit line you use, and the repayment term.

•   Variable Rate: Most HELOCs have a variable rate, which is frequently tied to the prime rate, a benchmark index that closely follows the economy. Even if your rate starts out low, it could go up (or down). A margin is added to the index to determine the interest you are charged. In some cases, you may be able to lock a variable-rate HELOC into a fixed rate.

•   Hybrid fixed-rate HELOCs are not the norm but have gained attention. They allow a borrower to withdraw money from the credit line and convert it to a fixed rate.

Note: SoFi does not offer hybrid fixed-rate HELOCs at this time.

HELOC Requirements

Now that you know what a HELOC is, and the basics of how does a HELOC work, think about what is involved in getting one. If you do decide to apply for a home equity line of credit, you will likely be evaluated on the basis of these criteria:

•   Home equity percentage: Lenders typically look for at least 15% or more commonly 20%.

•   A good credit score: Usually, a score of 680 will help you qualify, though many lenders prefer 700+. If you have a credit score between 621 and 679, you may be approved by some lenders.

•   Low debt-to-income (DTI) ratio: Here, a lender will see how your total housing costs and other debt (say, student loans) compare to your income. The lower your DTI percentage, the better you look to a lender. Your DTI will be calculated by your total debt divided by your monthly gross income. A lender might look for a figure in which debt accounts for anywhere between 36% to 50% of your total monthly income.

Other angles that lenders may look for is a specific income level that makes them feel comfortable that you can repay the debt, as well as a solid, dependable payment history. These are aspects of the factors mentioned above, but some lenders look more closely at these as independent factors.

Example of a HELOC

Here’s an example of how a HELOC might work. Let’s say your home is worth $300,000, and you currently have a mortgage of $200,000. If you seek a HELOC, the lender might allow you to borrow up to 80% of your home’s value:

   $300,000 x 0.8 = $240,000

Next, you would subtract the amount you owe on your mortgage ($200,000) from the qualifying amount noted above ($240,000) to find how big a HELOC you qualify for:

   $240,000 – $200,000 = $40,000.

One other aspect to note is a HELOC will be repaid in two distinct phases:

•   The first part is the draw period, which typically lasts 10 years. At this time, you can borrow money from your line of credit. Your minimum payment may be interest-only, though you can pay down the principal as well, if you like.

•   The next part of the HELOC is known as the repayment period, which is often also 10 years, but may vary. At this point, you will no longer be able to draw funds from the line of credit, and you will likely have monthly payments due that include both principal and interest. For this reason, the amount you pay is likely to rise considerably.

Recommended: What Are the Different Types of Home Equity Loans?

How to Get a Home Equity Line of Credit

If you’re ready to apply for a home equity line of credit, follow these steps:

•   First, it’s wise to shop around with different lenders to reveal minimum credit score ranges required for HELOC approval. You can also check and compare terms, such as periodic and lifetime rate caps. You might also look into which index is used to determine rates, and how often and by how much it can change.

•   Then, you can get specific offers from a few lenders to see the best option for you. Banks (online and traditional) as well as credit unions often offer HELOCs.

•   When you’ve selected the offer you want to go with, you can submit your application. This usually is similar to a mortgage application. It will involve gathering documentation that reflects your home’s value, your income, your assets, and your credit score. You may or may not need a home appraisal.

•   Lastly, you’ll hopefully hear that you are approved from your lender. After that, it can take approximately 30 to 60 days for the funds to become available. Usually, the money will be accessible via a credit card or a checkbook.

How Much Can You Borrow With a HELOC?

Depending on your creditworthiness and debt-to-income ratio, you may be able to borrow up to 90% of the value of your home (or, in some cases, even more), less the amount owed on your first mortgage.

Thought of another way, most lenders require your combined loan-to-value ratio (CLTV) to be 90% or less for a home equity line of credit.

Here’s an example. Say your home is worth $500,000, you owe $300,000 on your mortgage, and you hope to tap $120,000 of home equity.

Combined loan balance (mortgage plus HELOC, $420,000) ÷ current appraised value ($500,000) = CLTV (0.84)

Convert this to a percentage, and you arrive at 84%, just under many lenders’ CLTV threshold for approval.

In this example, the liens on your home would be a first mortgage with its existing terms at $300,000, and a second mortgage (the HELOC) with its own terms at $120,000.

How Do Payments On a HELOC Work?

A HELOC is distinguished from other types of loans by its two-phase payment structure. During the first stage of your HELOC (the draw period), you can borrow against your credit line, up to the approved ceiling, but you may be required to make only minimum payments. These are often interest-only payments. (Of course, if you choose to repay all that you owe, you can then borrow against the entire credit line again, and again, up to the end of the draw period.)

Once the draw period ends, your regular HELOC repayment period begins, when payments must be made toward both the interest and the principal.

Interest-Only vs. Principal and Interest Payments

After the draw period ends and the repayment period begins, you’ll begin making monthly payments that, similar to a home mortgage loan, include both principal and interest. For some borrowers, the end of the interest-only period can be a bit of a shock to the budget, so make sure you are prepared and know when the draw period is ending (often at the 10-year mark). A HELOC repayment calculator can help you understand what your payments might be based on how much you borrow.

Remember that if you have a variable-rate HELOC, your monthly payment will fluctuate over time. And it’s important to check the terms so you know whether you’ll be expected to make one final balloon payment at the end of the repayment period.

Pros of Taking Out a HELOC

Here are some of the benefits of a HELOC:

1. Initial Interest Rate and Acquisition Cost

A HELOC, secured by your home, may have a lower interest rate than unsecured loans and lines of credit. What is the interest rate on a HELOC? The average rate for a $100,000 HELOC in March 2025 was 7.61%.

Lenders often offer a low introductory rate, or teaser rate. After that period ends, your rate (and payments) increase to the true market level (the index plus the margin). Lenders normally place periodic and lifetime rate caps on HELOCs.

The closing costs may be lower than those of a home equity loan. Some lenders waive HELOC closing costs entirely if you meet a minimum credit line and keep the line open for a few years.

2. Taking Out Money as You Need It

Instead of receiving a lump-sum loan, a HELOC gives you the option to draw on the money over time as needed. That way, you don’t borrow more than you actually use, and you don’t have to go back to the lender to apply for more loans if you end up requiring additional money.

3. Only Paying Interest on the Amount You’ve Withdrawn

Paying interest only on the amount plucked from the credit line is beneficial when you are not sure how much will be needed for a project or if you need to pay in intervals.

Also, you can pay the line off and let it sit open at a zero balance during the draw period in case you need to pull from it again later.

Cons of Taking Out a HELOC

Now, here are some downsides of HELOCs to consider:

1. Variable Interest Rate

Even though your initial interest rate may be low, if it’s variable and tied to the prime rate, it will likely go up and down with the federal funds rate. This means that over time, your monthly payment may fluctuate and become less affordable (or more!).

Variable-rate HELOCs come with annual and lifetime rate caps, so check the details to know just how high your interest rate might go.

2. Potential Cost

Taking out a HELOC is placing a second mortgage lien on your home. You may have to deal with closing costs on the loan amount, though some HELOCs come with low or zero fees. Sometimes loans with no or low fees have an early closure fee.

3. Your Home Is on the Line

If you aren’t able to make payments and go into loan default, the lender could foreclose on your home. And if the HELOC is in second lien position, the lender could work with the first lienholder on your property to recover the borrowed money.

Adjustable-rate loans like HELOCs can be riskier than others because fluctuating rates can change your expected repayment amount.

4. It Could Affect Your Ability to Take On Other Debt

Just like other liabilities, adding on to your debt with a HELOC could affect your ability to take out other loans in the future. That’s because lenders consider your existing debt load before agreeing to offer you more.

Lenders will qualify borrowers based on the full line of credit draw even if the line has a zero balance. This may be something to consider if you expect to take on another home mortgage loan, a car loan, or other debts in the near future.

Alternatives to HELOCs

If you’re looking to access cash, here are HELOC alternatives.

1. Cash-Out Refi

With a cash-out refinance, you replace your existing mortgage with a new mortgage based on your home’s current value, with a goal of a lower interest rate, and cash out some of the equity that you have in the home. So if your current mortgage is $150,000 on a $250,000 value home, you might aim for a cash-out refinance that is $175,000 and use the $25,000 additional funds as needed.

Lenders typically require you to maintain at least 20% equity in your home (although there are exceptions). Be prepared to pay closing costs.

Generally, cash-out refinance guidelines may require more equity in the home vs. a HELOC.

Recommended: Cash Out Refi vs. Home Equity Line of Credit: Key Differences to Know

2. Home Equity Loan

HELOCs and home equity loans are often confused. Both are second mortgages (assuming you still have your first mortgage) that allow you to borrow against your home equity. The key difference in the HELOC vs. home equity loan comparison: With a home equity loan, you get a lump sum all at once and begin repaying what you owe (principal plus interest) immediately. A HELOC, as noted above, works more like a credit card. You borrow what you need in increments before you reach your repayment term.

Another difference: Home equity loans almost always come with a fixed interest rate, which allows for consistent monthly payments. HELOCs typically have a variable rate.

3. Personal Loan

If you’re looking to finance a big-but-not-that-big project for personal reasons, and you have a good estimate of how much money you’ll need, a low-rate personal loan that is not secured by your home could be a better fit.

With possibly few to zero upfront costs and minimal paperwork, a fixed-rate personal loan could be a quick way to access the money you need. Just know that an unsecured loan usually has a higher interest rate than a secured loan.

A personal loan might also be a better alternative to a HELOC if you bought your home recently and don’t have much equity built up yet.

4. Reverse Mortgage

If you are 62 or older, a reverse mortgage could allow you to turn part of your home equity into cash. Funds can be paid out as a lump sum, a monthly payment, or available as a line of credit, and are repaid when the home is sold. Borrowers who want a reverse mortgage usually turn to a home equity conversion mortgage, or HECM, which has fairly rigid standards. All owners must be at least age 62, and the home must be paid off or largely paid for.

Note: SoFi does not offer home equity conversion mortgages (HECMs) at this time.

5. Bridge Loan

A short-term bridge loan lets owners use the equity in their existing home to help pay for a home they’re ready to purchase. A bridge loan is secured by the first home and typically issued by a lender who will be the lender on their new mortgage. If you’re buying and selling a home at the same time, a bridge loan might be an appropriate way to help cover costs in the transitional period, such as when closing dates on the two properties don’t align.

Note: SoFi does not currently offer bridge loans for home financing.

The Takeaway

If you are looking to tap the equity of your home, a HELOC can give you money as needed, up to an approved limit, during a typical 10-year draw period. The interest rate is usually variable. Sometimes closing costs are waived. It can be an affordable way to get cash to use on anything from a home renovation to college costs.

SoFi now partners with Spring EQ to offer flexible HELOCs. Our HELOC options allow you to access up to 90% of your home’s value, or $500,000, at competitively lower rates. And the application process is quick and convenient.

Unlock your home’s value with a home equity line of credit from SoFi, brokered through Spring EQ.

FAQ

What can you use a HELOC for?

It’s up to you what you want to use the cash from a HELOC for. You could use it for a home renovation or addition, or for other expenses, such as college costs or a wedding.

How can you find out how much you can borrow?

Lenders typically require 20% equity in your home and then offer up to 90% or even more of your home’s value, minus the amount owed on your mortgage. There are online tools you can use to determine the exact amount, or contact your bank or credit union.

How long do you have to pay back a HELOC?

Typically, home equity lines of credit have 20-year terms. The first 10 years are considered the draw period, and the second 10 years are the repayment phase.

How much does a HELOC cost?

When evaluating HELOC offers, check interest rates, the interest-rate cap, closing costs (which may or may not be billed), and other fees to see just how much you would be paying.

Can you sell your house if you have a HELOC?

Yes, you can sell a house if you have a HELOC. The home equity line of credit balance will typically be repaid from the proceeds of the sales when you close, after any mortgage principal is paid off.

Does a HELOC hurt your credit?

A HELOC can hurt your credit score for a short period of time. Applying for a home equity line can temporarily lower your credit score because a hard credit pull is part of the process when you seek funding. This typically takes your score down a bit.


About the author

Rebecca Lake

Rebecca Lake

Rebecca Lake has been a finance writer for nearly a decade, specializing in personal finance, investing, and small business. She is a contributor at Forbes Advisor, SmartAsset, Investopedia, The Balance, MyBankTracker, MoneyRates and CreditCards.com. Read full bio.



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Financial Tips & Strategies: The tips provided on this website are of a general nature and do not take into account your specific objectives, financial situation, and needs. You should always consider their appropriateness given your own circumstances.

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