The Different Types Of Home Equity Loans

The Different Types Of Home Equity Loans

How does a home equity loan work? First, it’s important to understand that the term home equity loan is simply a catchall for the different ways the equity in your home can be used to access cash. The most common types of home equity loans are fixed-rate home equity loans, home equity lines of credit (HELOCs), and cash-out refinancing.

Key Points

•   Home equity loans allow homeowners to borrow against the equity in their homes.

•   There are two main types of home equity loans: traditional home equity loans and home equity lines of credit (HELOCs).

•   Traditional home equity loans provide a lump sum of money with a fixed interest rate and fixed monthly payments.

•   HELOCs function like a credit card, allowing homeowners to borrow and repay funds as needed within a set time frame.

•   Home equity loans can be used for various purposes, such as home renovations, debt consolidation, or major expenses.

What Are the Main Types of Home Equity Loans?

When folks think of home equity loans, they typically think of either a fixed-rate home equity loan or a home equity line of credit (HELOC). There is a third way to use home equity to access cash, and that’s through a cash-out refinance.

With fixed-rate home equity loans or HELOCs, the primary benefit is that the borrower may qualify for a better interest rate using their home as collateral than by using an unsecured loan — a loan that is not backed by collateral. Some people with high-interest credit card debt may choose to use a lower-rate home equity loan to pay off those credit card balances, for instance.

This does not come without risks, of course. Borrowing against a home could leave it vulnerable to foreclosure if the borrower is unable to pay back the loan. A personal loan may be a better fit if the borrower doesn’t want to put their home up as collateral.

How much a homeowner can borrow is typically based on the combined loan-to-value ratio (CLTV ratio) of the first mortgage plus the home equity loan. Generally, this figure cannot exceed 80% CLTV. To calculate the CLTV, divide the combined value of the two loans by the appraised value of the home. In addition, utilizing a home affordability calculator can serve as a good starting point in understanding how much you’ll need to put down and other expenses related to the home-buying process.

Of course, qualifying for a home equity loan is typically contingent on several factors, such as the credit score and financial standing of the borrower.

Fixed-Rate Home Equity Loan

Fixed-rate loans are pretty straightforward: The lender provides one lump-sum payment to the borrower, which is to be repaid over a period of time with a set interest rate. Both the monthly payment and interest rate remain the same over the life of the loan. Fixed-rate home equity loans typically have terms that run from five to 15 years, and they must be paid back in full if the home is sold.

With a fixed-rate home equity loan, the amount of closing costs is usually similar to the costs of closing on a home mortgage. When shopping around for rates, asking about the lender’s closing costs and all other third-party costs is recommended. These costs vary from bank to bank.

This loan type may be best for borrowers with a one-time or straightforward cash need. For example, let’s say a borrower wants to build a $20,000 garage addition and pay off a $4,000 medical bill. A $24,000 lump sum loan would be made to the borrower, who would then simply pay back the loan with interest. This option could also make sense for borrowers who already have a mortgage with a low interest rate and may not want to refinance that loan.

Recommended: What Is a Fixed-Rate Mortgage?

Turn your home equity into cash with a HELOC from SoFi.

Access up to 95% or $500k of your home’s equity to finance almost anything.


Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC)

A HELOC is revolving debt, which means that as the loan balance is paid down, it can be borrowed again during the draw period (whereas a home equity loan provides one lump sum and that’s it). As an example, let’s say a borrower is approved for a $10,000 HELOC. They first borrow $7,000 against the line of credit, leaving a balance of $3,000 that they can draw against. The borrower then pays $5,000 toward the principal, which gives them $8,000 in available credit.

Unlike with a fixed-rate loan, a HELOC’s interest rate is variable and will fluctuate with market rates, which means that rates could increase throughout the duration of the credit line. The monthly loan payments will vary because they’re dependent on the amount borrowed and the current interest rate.

HELOCs have two periods of time that are important for borrowers to be aware of: the draw period and the repayment period.

•   The draw period is the amount of time the borrower is allowed to use, or draw, funds against the line of credit, commonly 10 years. After this amount of time, the borrower can no longer draw against the funds available.

•   The repayment period is the amount of time the borrower has to repay the loan in full. The repayment period lasts for a certain number of years after the draw period ends.

So, for instance, a 30-year HELOC would have a draw period of 10 years and a repayment period of 20 years. Payments made during the draw period are typically interest-only, with principal payments added during the repayment period.

This loan type may be best for people who want the flexibility to pay as they go. For an ongoing project that will need the money portioned out over longer periods of time, a HELOC might be the best option. While home improvement projects might be the most common reason for considering a HELOC, other uses might be for wedding costs or business start-up costs.

Home Equity Loan Fees

Generally, under federal law, fees should be disclosed by the lender. However, there are some fees that are not required to be disclosed. Borrowers certainly have the right to ask what those undisclosed fees are, though.

Fees that require disclosure include application fees, points, annual account fees, and transaction fees, to name a few. Lenders are not required to disclose fees for things like photocopying related to the loan, returned check or stop payment fees, and others.

Home Equity Loan Tax Deductibility

Since enactment of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017, interest on home equity loans is only deductible if the loan is used on qualifying home improvements. Checking with a tax professional to understand how a home equity loan or HELOC might affect a certain financial situation is recommended.

Cash-Out Refinance

Mortgage refinancing is the process of paying off an existing mortgage loan with a new loan from either the current lender or a new lender. Common reasons for refinancing a mortgage include securing a lower interest rate, or either increasing or decreasing the term of the mortgage. Depending on the new loan’s interest rate and term, the borrower may be able to save money in the long term. Increasing the term of the loan may not save money on interest, even if the borrower receives a lower interest rate, but it could lower the monthly payments.

With a cash-out refinance, a borrower may be able to refinance their current mortgage for more than they currently owe and then take the difference in cash. For example, let’s say a borrower owns a home with an appraised value of $400,000 and owes $200,000 on their mortgage. They would like to make $30,000 worth of repairs to their home, so they refinance with a $230,000 mortgage, taking the difference in cash.

As with home equity loans, there typically are some costs associated with a cash-out refinance. Generally, a refinance will have higher closing costs than a home equity loan.

This loan type may be best for people who would prefer to have one consolidated loan and may want to secure a lower rate or a different loan term. For example, a homeowner who purchased their house 10 years ago with a 6% mortgage interest rate may now have equity in the home and might even have better credit than when they first took out the mortgage. The homeowner might be able to refinance to a mortgage with a 4% interest rate while also taking out cash.

The Takeaway

There are three main types of home equity loans: a fixed-rate home equity loan, a home equity line of credit (HELOC), and a cash-out refinance. Just as with a first mortgage, the process will involve a bank or other creditor lending money to the borrower, using real property as collateral, and require a review of the borrower’s financial situation. Keep in mind that cash-out refinancing is effectively getting a new mortgage, whereas a fixed-rate home equity loan and a HELOC involve another loan, which is why they’re referred to as “second mortgages.”

While each can allow you to tap your home’s equity, what’s unique about a HELOC is that it offers the flexibility to pay as you go. This can make it well-suited to those who need money over a longer period of time, such as for an ongoing home improvement project. If that sounds like your situation and you have equity in your home, consider a home equity line of credit with SoFi.

Apply today to turn your home equity into cash.


Tax Information: This article provides general background information only and is not intended to serve as legal or tax advice or as a substitute for legal counsel. You should consult your own attorney and/or tax advisor if you have a question requiring legal or tax advice.

SoFi Mortgages
Terms, conditions, and state restrictions apply. Not all products are available in all states. See SoFi.com/eligibility for more information.


SoFi Loan Products
SoFi loans are originated by SoFi Bank, N.A., NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC). For additional product-specific legal and licensing information, see SoFi.com/legal. Equal Housing Lender.


SOHL1222007

Read more
couple on laptop together

How to Win a Bidding War

In housing markets teeming with buyer demand, it’s not uncommon to put an offer on a home only to be outdone by a competing offer. If two or more potential buyers want a property badly enough, they may find themselves locked in a bidding war.

The tea leaves indicate that 2023 will throw cold water on many bidding wars, but certain markets in the country could remain competitive.

Here’s how to increase your chances of winning a bidding war so you don’t have to bid adieu to a home you really want.

First-time homebuyers can
prequalify for a SoFi mortgage loan,
with as little as 3% down.


1. Know How a Bidding War Works

Bidding wars usually take place in a seller’s market, when demand outpaces housing inventory. They also typically occur when there are multiple interested parties and when there is some sort of constraint, like timing.

When a seller’s agent receives offers for a property that has attracted a lot of buzz, the agent may set a date by which would-be buyers should make their “highest and best” offer. Sellers can accept the best offer, counter one offer while putting the others to the side while awaiting a decision, or counter one offer and reject the others.

This brings up a salient point: It’s true that you can buy a house without a Realtor® or real estate agent, but an experienced agent can guide you through offers and counteroffers, contingency snags, and more.

2. Line Up Your Financing

One of the best things you can do to be prepared for a potential bidding war — or really any time — is to get your finances, and financing, in order.

Be sure to know how much house you can afford, including a down payment and monthly payments.

Determine if you qualify for a mortgage and familiarize yourself with the types of home loans that are available: government-backed loan or conventional loan, fixed rate or adjustable rate.

Getting preapproved for a mortgage will give you a specific amount that a lender is tentatively willing to let you borrow.

And a preapproval letter shows sellers that you are a serious candidate to buy a home. Many experts recommend getting at least three preapproval letters from three lenders.

3. Lessen or Drop Contingencies

Contingencies are certain conditions that must be met before a real estate deal becomes binding. Potential buyers can back out of a deal without penalty if the contingencies aren’t met.

A clean offer, one with as few contingencies as possible, is attractive to sellers in a competitive market.

In a typical real estate market, a common contingency is the mortgage contingency, or financing contingency, which allows homebuyers to exit the deal and have their earnest money returned if they cannot secure financing by the agreed-upon deadline.

Another is the inspection contingency. Based on the findings of a professional inspection, the buyer may be able to negotiate repairs or the price, which are known as seller concessions if the sellers are agreeable, or cancel the contract.

Waiving contingencies shows your eagerness to triumph, but it comes with risk. The biggest is losing your earnest money deposit if you hit a snag.

4. Be Quick About These Contingencies

Sellers want to avoid spending a lot of time with a potential buyer only to have the deal fall through. If you’re including appraisal and inspection contingencies, do what you can to expedite them.

The real estate purchase contract includes any contingencies, the sales price, the closing date, and the date of the title transfer and possession. The contract is considered a working document until both parties agree on the terms.

5. Use an Escalation Clause

Unsurprisingly, one of the best ways to win a bidding war is by offering more money.

You may want to include an escalation clause in the contract if you assume there will be multiple offers.

The clause asserts that if another buyer makes a competing offer, your bid will automatically increase by a certain amount, up to a limit, to exceed the offer.

Say you put a $400,000 offer on a home, with an escalation amount of $10,000 and a ceiling of $430,000. If someone else bids $410,000, you will automatically bid $420,000, up to your ceiling.

6. Stay Flexible

A willingness to be flexible can give you a leg up in the eyes of a seller.

For example, a seller might be moving across the country for work and need to close by a specific date. So if you can get the appraisal and inspection done swiftly, that could be a huge plus.

Alternatively, sellers may need to stay in the house for a while. Working with them on their specific needs could give you an edge.

7. Pay With Cash

If you are able to do it, buying a house with cash can be very attractive to sellers. The process is typically much faster than going through a lender, and sellers don’t want to worry about financing issues that might hold up the deal or cause it to fall through.

It’s even possible that a seller would choose a cash offer over a slightly higher offer backed by a mortgage.

8. Increase Your Deposit

There are timeless standards for how to make an offer on a house. One is determining the size of your earnest money deposit.

The deposit, held in escrow by the title company, secures the real estate contract. It tells the seller that you are serious about buying the house.

Earnest money is typically 1% to 3% of the purchase price but can be more in a competitive market. If you close on the home, the deposit will be applied to your closing costs.

9. Write a Personal Letter

When sellers are choosing a buyer during a bidding war, they’re often just looking at numbers on a page. Consider writing a real estate offer letter, aka love letter, to humanize the transaction.

You might want to make a case for why you’re the ideal candidate to buy the home, and note commonalities: You’re a ceramicist and noticed an artist’s studio in the backyard. You have dogs; they have a dog. That big elm reminds you of the one at your childhood home.

Be complimentary about the things you like about the house and how it has been maintained. And be concise.

The Takeaway

Whether you’re buying in a time of burgeoning bidding wars or not, it’s good to know how they work. The tactics help homebuyers understand the lay of the real estate land: contingencies, earnest money, escalation clauses, love letters.

If you’re gearing up for a bidding war or a peaceful purchase, see what SoFi Mortgages are all about. The rates are competitive. A number of repayment terms are offered. And qualifying first-time homebuyers can put as little as 3% down.

Getting prequalified is the first step.


SoFi Mortgages
Terms, conditions, and state restrictions apply. Not all products are available in all states. See SoFi.com/eligibility for more information.


SoFi Loan Products
SoFi loans are originated by SoFi Bank, N.A., NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC). For additional product-specific legal and licensing information, see SoFi.com/legal. Equal Housing Lender.


Financial Tips & Strategies: The tips provided on this website are of a general nature and do not take into account your specific objectives, financial situation, and needs. You should always consider their appropriateness given your own circumstances.

SOHL21003

Read more
houses with percent symbol mobile

How Much Equity Do I Have in My Home?

Making monthly mortgage payments can feel like chipping away at an iceberg, especially in the beginning. Savvy homeowners take heart that each payment earns them a little more ownership in their property. But do you know exactly how much ownership, commonly called “equity,” you currently have?

Simply put, home equity is the difference between the value of a property and the outstanding balance of all mortgages, liens, and other debt on the property. Read on to determine how much of your home you really own, what you can do to increase your equity, and how you can leverage that equity to make it work harder for you.

Turn your home equity into cash with a HELOC from SoFi.

Access up to 95% or $500k of your home’s equity to finance almost anything.


How To Calculate Your Home Equity

As noted above, home equity is the difference between your home’s current value and the outstanding balance of your mortgage and other debt on the property. It’s a simple equation:

Home Equity = Home Value – Home Debt

You can find your mortgage payoff amount (which is different from your balance) on your lender’s online portal. Add to that the outstanding balances of any second mortgages, liens (for unpaid taxes or child support, for example), home equity lines of credit, and any other loans that use your home for collateral. The sum of these items is your home debt, the last figure in the equity equation.

To estimate your home value, you can use the list price of your home, but that doesn’t account for any appreciation in value. For a precise calculation of your home equity, you’ll need to know your home’s current value with appreciation:

How Do You Find the Value of Your Home

Your home’s current value is what you paid plus appreciation. You can get an estimate of your home’s value with an online property tracking tool. These calculators approximate the appreciation on your home by comparing it with similar properties in the area. While helpful, these tools can’t provide an exact measure.

To determine your real-time home value, you’ll need to contact your mortgage lender and request an official appraisal. Your lender will conduct an inspection and evaluation of what your home is worth in the current market. The appraiser may ask you for documentation of any work you’ve done on your home to come to a more exact figure.

Using the Loan-to-Value Ratio To Represent Home Equity

The loan-to-value ratio (LTV) is the percentage of your home’s value that is borrowed — it’s like the opposite of equity. Lenders set maximum LTVs, typically 80%, for home equity loans. This means homeowners cannot borrow more than 80% of their home’s value.

You can calculate your LTV by dividing your outstanding home debt, discussed above, by your home’s appraised value:

LTV = Home Debt ÷ Home Value

For example, if your home is worth $375K, and you still owe $200K. Your LTV is 53%. Your available equity is then 27%, or $101,250.

Examples of Home Equity After 1, 3, 5, 10 Years

The table below shows how much equity a fictional homeowner accumulates over the first 10 years of their mortgage. This assumes an initial home value of $300K, with annual appreciation of 10%*, a mortgage APR of 7.5%, and a monthly payment of $1678.11. The LTV is rounded to the nearest whole percentage.

*Actual annual appreciation for American homes over the last 10 years on average was 7.4%.

Year Home Value Loan Balance Home Equity LTV
0 $300,000 $240,000 $60,000 80%
1 $330,000 $237,596 $92,404 72%
2 $363,000 $235,196 $127,803 65%
3 $399,300 $232,611 $166,689 58%
4 $439,230 $229,825 $209,405 52%
5 $483,150 $226,822 $256,327 47%
6 $531,470 $223,587 $307,882 42%
7 $584,620 $220,101 $364,519 38%
8 $643,080 $216,343 $426,736 34%
9 $707,380 $212,294 $494,085 30%
10 $778,120 $207,931 $570,188 27%

Recommended: How Much Will a $300,000 Mortgage Cost You?

What Is a Good Amount of Home Equity?

Common wisdom says that it’s smart to keep at least 20% equity in your home. This is why many lenders limit your LTV to 80%. To borrow against your home, however, you’ll need more than 20% equity.

Fortunately, that’s not a problem for most homeowners. Research firm Black Knight recently estimated that Americans have $185,000 of “accessible” home equity on average, over and above the recommended 20%. This is mostly due to rising home values.

Recommended: How Home Ownership Can Help Build Generational Wealth

How Much Home Equity Can You Take Out?

The amount of equity you can take out depends on the lender and the type of loan. However, most lenders will allow you to borrow 80%-85% of your home’s appraised value. The other 15%-20% remains as a kind of financial cushion.

Tips on Increasing Home Equity

Your initial home equity is determined by your down payment. The larger the down payment, the more equity a homeowner has right off the bat. The average down payment among American homebuyers is currently 13%. But a down payment of 20% or more can qualify borrowers for more favorable mortgage rates.

After the down payment, home equity typically accumulates in three ways: monthly mortgage payments, appreciation, and home improvements. Beyond waiting for their home to appreciate, homeowners can increase their equity in several ways:

Pay more than your minimum mortgage payment each month. The extra money will go toward your principal, increasing your equity more quickly. Learn how to pay off a 30-year mortgage in 15 years.

Make biweekly payments instead of monthly. Your mid-month payment will incrementally lower your interest due. And by the end of the year, you’ll have made an extra mortgage payment.

Make strategic home improvements. Certain updates increase your home’s value more than others. Learn which home improvements have the best ROI.

Refinance to a shorter-term loan. By refinancing to a 10- or 15-year mortgage instead of a standard 30-year, each mortgage payment will increase your equity at a faster rate.

The Takeaway

Home equity is calculated by subtracting your mortgage payoff balance (found on your lender’s website) from your home’s current value. To get an accurate idea of your home’s market value, you’ll need an appraisal by your mortgage lender, which can cost $300-$450. Homeowners typically can’t borrow more than 80%-85% of their home equity.

If a homeowner doesn’t want to take out a home equity loan but needs cash, they might consider a Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC). A HELOC allows owners to pull from their property’s equity continually over time. Borrowers can take only what they need at the moment. HELOCs use the home as collateral, which might not appeal to all borrowers.

A HELOC brokered by SoFi allows homeowners to access up to 95% of their home’s equity, or $500,000, and offers lower interest rates than personal loans. Borrow what you need to finance home improvements or consolidate debt.

Learn more about turning your home equity into cash with a HELOC brokered by SoFi.


SoFi Mortgages
Terms, conditions, and state restrictions apply. Not all products are available in all states. See SoFi.com/eligibility for more information.


SoFi Loan Products
SoFi loans are originated by SoFi Bank, N.A., NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC). For additional product-specific legal and licensing information, see SoFi.com/legal. Equal Housing Lender.


Financial Tips & Strategies: The tips provided on this website are of a general nature and do not take into account your specific objectives, financial situation, and needs. You should always consider their appropriateness given your own circumstances.

SOHL1222003

Read more

What Is an Escrow Holdback?

Congratulations; You’ve found a house you love and want to buy. You may even be in the final stages of closing on this dream home. But sometimes, you may need to access what’s known as an escrow holdback: a way of setting aside funds at the closing for repairs that are most definitely needed as you take ownership.

For example, what happens if a blizzard hits the week before your scheduled closing, revealing a leaky roof that needs major (pricey) repairs?

This wasn’t something that showed up in the initial inspection report. Or, maybe it did show up in the inspection report, but the issue is suddenly much more pressing in light of said snowstorm. Either way, these repairs can’t be made at this particular time because it’s winter and, well, it’s snowing outside.

What’s a buyer to do? In this scenario, an escrow holdback could be a path to funding the necessary repairs without blowing your closing date. Here, you’ll learn more about escrow holdbacks, including:

•   What is an escrow holdback?

•   How does an escrow holdback work?

•   What qualifies for an escrow holdback?

•   What if your situation doesn’t qualify for a holdback?

Escrow Holdbacks Defined

Before defining escrow holdbacks, here’s what escrow is: Typically, it’s money held by a third party as assets (such as real estate) are being transferred.

An escrow holdback agreement, however, occurs when money is set aside at the closing of a home to complete repairs. Generally, this is done at the seller’s expense, though not always.

Money is held in an escrow account until the repairs are completed. The funds can then be released. Another name for an escrow holdback that you may hear used is a repair escrow.

This may sound like a pretty good arrangement, but an escrow holdback isn’t a possibility for every borrower and in every scenario. Consider the following:

•   The lender’s underwriter will review the appraisal and any accompanying inspection reports to confirm that the sales price is met and that the property does not show evidence of any deferred maintenance items that can have an effect on things like safety, soundness, or structural integrity.

•   These are often referred to as health and safety issues. Health and safety issues can affect whether the home is eligible for financing.

•   Most lenders will not close a loan on a home that has been called out for things like missing railing, stairs, fencing, and much more.

It’s not hard to imagine a situation where a homebuyer needs the seller to repair something that cannot be completed until after the contract’s closing date, like in the snowstorm example above. Depending upon the repair, a lender may allow for the seller to place funds in escrow for what’s known as defect cure within a specified period of time for a specified amount.

These repairs could be expected or unexpected as the parties move through the home-buying process. Generally, the appraiser calls out the more obvious issues that hurt a home appraisal and may recommend further inspection by an expert for something noted in their report. If an appraiser requests an inspection, the lender’s underwriter may review the report and require some repairs.

Another example of a situation in which an escrow holdback could be a valuable tool: when a seller needs the proceeds from the sale of the home in order to comply with the repair request.

These are examples of how and when an escrow holdback could be warranted and beneficial.

Recommended: 31 Ways to Save for a Home

How Does the Escrow Holdback Process Work?

If you’re curious about how the escrow holdback process works, consider these points that spell out the process in more detail:

•   Normally, the first step is the buyer’s and seller’s agents negotiating any required repairs through an addendum to the purchase contract. This is drawn up by the real estate agents and signed by all parties.

•   The document will likely outline the repairs that the buyer (or lender) would like the seller to make, the timeframe for those repairs, and details about how and when the payments to the contractors are to be made.

•   This contract addendum is then sent to the escrow company (or the attorney) and to the lender, who will review the document. The underwriter of the loan will have the last say as to whether the escrow holdback is approved.

•   If it is approved, then the closing may proceed as initially planned. However, not all holdback requests will be approved.

   The lender may have conditions around the approval of an escrow holdback. These can include but are not limited to such requirements as improvements having to be completed within 180 days of the mortgage closing date.

•   The lender will likely establish an escrow completion account with the title company from the purchase proceeds. This is typically equal to 120% of the estimated cost for completing the improvements and more.

•   Once the repairs are completed, another inspection occurs to verify that the work has been satisfactorily finished. The escrow account can then release the funds.

Find out how much it would cost
to update your home.


It’s important to note that not all transactions qualify for an escrow holdback. The criteria can vary between lenders, property, and even type of transaction (sale of existing property or of a new construction home).

Recommended: What to Look for When Buying a House

What Qualifies for an Escrow Holdback?

Generally, lenders prefer that repairs take place prior to the closing, but exceptions can be made — like when repairs must be delayed due to inclement weather.

This may limit escrow holdbacks to repairs that require some work on the outside of the home, such as repairs to a roof, yard, or plumbing accessed outdoors.

Here are some types of repairs that are factors that affect property value and residents’ safety and may qualify for an escrow holdback:

•   Patio problems

•   Pest control

•   Roof repair

•   Septic tank issues

•   Sprinkler system problems

•   Yard cleanup

Again, there are no sure things or guarantees of how an escrow holdback will work. That’s because it is ultimately up to all of the involved parties to agree on the terms.

Beyond the weather causing a delay, lenders are often looking to determine whether the repairs present a risk to the property (their collateral) or present health and safety issues to the prospective occupants. As you might imagine, a lender generally won’t want to make a loan for a property that they believe could threaten the health or safety of its occupants.

Recommended: The 7 Steps to Buying a House

What if Your Situation Doesn’t Qualify for a Holdback?

Say you believe there is an issue that merits an escrow holdback, but the lender doesn’t approve it. Now what? There’s not much, unfortunately, that you can do in this situation. The most likely scenario is that the closing date will need to be pushed out to make time for any required repairs before loan closing.

As you pursue an escrow holdback, it might be helpful to understand that some lenders’ guidelines may not offer escrow holdbacks under any conditions.

This could be due to such issues as the follow-up involved in closing the holdback proves too arduous. Or perhaps there are difficulties in getting the repairs completed within the specified period of time given. If lenders have been burned in any of these ways in the past, they may decide the process is too risky.

In the event that a lender refuses an escrow holdback agreement, you might have to delay your closing. If the lender also refuses to make a loan, you (the buyer) could be in a very tough spot. Even if you’re willing to pay for the cost of repairs in order to move forward with the lending process, this may not be in your best interest.
You do not yet own the property, and issues can arise from making repairs.

It may be wise to get your real estate lawyer’s and real estate agent’s opinions about how to handle this kind of difficult situation. They can help you explore any options that exist.

Recommended: First-time Homebuyer’s Guide

The Takeaway

Escrow holdbacks can be a way to solve for needed repairs of a property you are interested in buying or have already begun to purchase. By keeping funds in this kind of account, the parties involved may be able to satisfactorily complete the work needed and pay for it in a clear and equitable way.

No matter your situation, you’ll likely want to work with a lender that can help you navigate the home-buying process. While you’re shopping for a mortgage, check out customer service reviews in addition to rates and terms.

SoFi offers mortgage loans with competitive rates and low down payment options. Plus, the process is simple, quick, and convenient.

Looking for an affordable mortgage loan that you can access easily? See what SoFi has to offer!


SoFi Mortgages
Terms, conditions, and state restrictions apply. Not all products are available in all states. See SoFi.com/eligibility for more information.


SoFi Loan Products
SoFi loans are originated by SoFi Bank, N.A., NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC). For additional product-specific legal and licensing information, see SoFi.com/legal. Equal Housing Lender.


Financial Tips & Strategies: The tips provided on this website are of a general nature and do not take into account your specific objectives, financial situation, and needs. You should always consider their appropriateness given your own circumstances.

SOHL0822015

Read more
tiny houses

Price-to-Rent Ratio in 52 Cities

Better to buy or rent? The price-to-rent ratio is a reference point that can help gauge affordability in any city — especially for people on the move. More specifically, the price-to-rent ratio can be helpful when looking at a certain area and deciding whether to sink your life savings into a home, or pay a landlord and wait to buy.

Read on to see the home price-to-rent ratio in some of the biggest U.S. cities.

Key Points

•   The price-to-rent ratio is a measure of whether it’s more affordable to rent or buy a home in a particular city.

•   It is calculated by dividing the median home price by the annual rent.

•   A price-to-rent ratio below 20 suggests that buying is more affordable, while a ratio above 20 indicates renting may be more cost-effective.

•   The price-to-rent ratio varies across cities, with some cities having ratios well above 20 and others below.

•   Factors such as housing market conditions and local economic factors can influence the price-to-rent ratio in different cities.

First, What Is the Price-to-Rent Ratio?

The price-to-rent ratio compares the median home price and the median annual rent in a given area. (You’ll remember that the median is the midpoint, where half the numbers are lower and half are higher.) To make sense of a city’s price-to-rent ratio, here’s a general idea of what the number suggests:

•   A ratio of 1 to 15 typically indicates that it’s more favorable to buy than rent in a given community.

•   A ratio of 16 to 20 indicates that it’s typically better to rent than buy.

•  A ratio of 21 or more indicates that it’s much better to rent than buy.

As you can see, the ratios could be useful when considering whether to rent or buy. Investors also often look at the ratios before purchasing a rental property.

The number also may be used as an indicator of an impending housing bubble. A substantial increase in the ratio could mean that renting is becoming a much more attractive option in that specific housing market.

If you’re exploring different areas, it can also be a good idea to estimate mortgage payments based on median home prices. That way, you can determine if it’s a cost you can reasonably afford to add to your budget on a monthly basis.

Recommended: Cost of Living Index by State

Price-to-Rent Ratio by City

Here are 52 popular metropolitan areas and their price-to-rent ratios. As of the third quarter of 2022, the median home sale price in the U.S. was $454,900, the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis reported.

Median sale price listed comes from Redfin as of December 2022. Median rents listed come from the Zumper National Rent Report from November 2022, based on a one-bedroom apartment. Remember, as home prices and rents shift over time, so do the ratios.

First-time homebuyers can
prequalify for a SoFi mortgage loan,
with as little as 3% down.


1. San Francisco

It’s no secret that San Francisco housing prices are way up there. The median sale price was $1,352,500, and the median rent for a one-bedroom apartment was $3,000 per month (or $36,000 a year). That gives the hilly city a price-to-rent ratio of nearly 38.

2. San Jose, Calif.

Golden State housing continues its pricey reputation in San Jose. The median sale price here was $1,222,500, and the city had a median one-bedroom rent of $30,480 annually ($2,540 a month), leading to a price-to-rent ratio of 40.

3. Seattle

The Emerald City had a median sale price of $820,000. Meanwhile, the median annual rent for a one-bedroom was $23,160, for a price-to-rent ratio of around 35.

4. Los Angeles

A median sale price of $965,000 and a median one-bedroom rent of $29,160 a year ($2,430 a month) shines a Hollywood light on renting, with a rent-to-price ratio of 33.

5. Long Beach, Calif.

With a median home price of $765,000 and one-bedroom rent averaging $1,770 a month, Long Beach earned a ratio of 36.

6. Honolulu

The ratio in the capital of Hawaii is a steamy 25, with a $552,500 median sale price and a median rent of $21,600 per year.

7. Oakland, Calif.

Oakland, across the bay from San Francisco, had a median sale price of $870,000 and median rent of $26,760 a year ($2,230 a month). This earned the location a price-to-rent ratio of 32.

8. Austin, Texas

A hotbed for artists, musicians, and techies, Austin had a price-to-rent ratio of nearly 27. This was thanks to a median sale price of $540,000 and median annual rent of $20,160.

9. San Diego

Hop back to Southern California beaches and “America’s Finest City,” where a median sale price of $835,000 and median rent of $30,000 a year led to a ratio of almost 28.

10. New York, N.Y.

The median sale price here was $790,000 and median rent was $45,480 a year ($3,790 a month), which equates to a price-to-rent ratio of roughly 17.

Of course, the city is composed of five boroughs: the Bronx, Brooklyn, Manhattan, Queens, and Staten Island, and it’s probable that most of the sales under $790,000 were not in Manhattan (where the median sale price was $1.2 million) or Brooklyn (where the median was $950,000). Just looking at Manhattan using the same annual average rent figure, the ratio looks more like 26.

11. Boston

With a median sale price of $775,000 and median rent of $36,000 a year, Beantown had a price-to-rent ratio of over 21.

12. Portland, Ore.

The midpoint of buying here of late was $524,500, compared with median rent of $18,480 per year, for a price-to-rent ratio of 28.

13. Tucson, Ariz.

In Tucson, the median sale price of $329,950 and median annual rent of $11,280 came out to a ratio of 29.

14. Denver

The Mile High City logged a renter-leaning ratio of nearly 29, thanks to a median sale price of $575,000 and median annual rent cost of $20,040.

15. Colorado Springs, Colo.

With a median sale price of $420,000 and annual rent of $14,760, this city at the eastern foot of the Rocky Mountains had a recent price-to-rent ratio of 28.

16. Albuquerque, N.M.

In the Southwest, Albuquerque heated up to a ratio of 26, based on a median home sale price of $300,000 and annual rent of $11,400.

17. Washington, D.C.

The nation’s capital is another pushpin on the map with a high cost of living. The median sale price of $650,000 compares with median rent of $27,600 annually ($2,300 a month), translating to a ratio of nearly 24.

18. Mesa, Ariz.

With a median sale price of $430,000 and median annual rent of $16,320, Mesa has a price-to-rent ratio of 26.

19. Las Vegas

Sin City has reached a ratio of 25, based on a $385,000 median sale price vs. $15,600 in annual rent.

20. Phoenix

Phoenix’s price-to-rent ratio has revved up to 24, with a median home sale price of $408,000 and $16,680 in rent.

21. Raleigh, N.C.

North Carolina’s capital, the City of Oaks, logs a ratio of nearly 27. This is based on a $407,500 median home sale price and median annual rent of $15,240.

22. Tulsa, Okla.

Tulsa had a price-to-rent ratio of 19, with median annual rent of $10,680 and home sale prices at a median of $203,750.

23. Dallas

This sprawling city had a recent median sale price of $400,000 and median annual rent of $17,040, leading to a price-to-rent ratio of 23.

24. Sacramento, Calif.

This Northern California city had a recent median sale price of $450,000 and median annual rent of $18,720, for a price-to-rent ratio of 24.

25. Fresno, Calif.

Fresno makes the list with a price-to-rent ratio of 20, based on median home sale prices of $380,000 and median annual rent of $15,960.

26. Oklahoma City

The capital of Oklahoma had one of the lower price-to-rent ratios until recent home price spikes. It logs a ratio of 24 lately, based on a median sale price of $251,800 and median annual rent of $10,440.

27. Arlington, Texas

Back to the Lone Star State, this city between Fort Worth and Dallas has a price-to-rent ratio of 24. This is thanks to a median sales price of $320,000 and median annual rent of $13,200.

28. San Antonio

This Texas city southwest of Austin had a median sale price of $285,000 and median annual rent of $13,920, resulting in a price-to-rent ratio of 20.

29. El Paso, Texas

El Paso traded a low price-to-rent ratio for a higher one when home prices rose. It’s at a 23, based on recent figures of a median sale price of $235,000 and median rent at $10,200 a year.

30. Omaha, Neb.

With a median sale price of $255,000 and median annual rent of $10,920, Omaha has a recent home price-to-rent ratio of 23.

31. Nashville, Tenn.

The first Tennessee city on this list is the Music City, with a price-to-rent ratio of 21. Nashville has a median sale price of $440,000 and a median annual rent of $20,400 ($1,700 per month).

32. Virginia Beach, Va.

The ratio here has nearly reached 20, based on a median home sale price of $330,000 and median rent of $16,800 per year.

33. Tampa, Fla.

This major Sunshine State city has a price-to-rent ratio of almost 21, based on a median home sale price of $410,000 and median annual rent of $19,800.

34. Jacksonville, Fla.

This east coast Florida city had a recent ratio of 19, based on a median sale price of $289,000 and median rent of $15,000 per year.

35. Charlotte, N.C.

Charlotte’s price-to-rent ratio of 22 arises from a median home sale price of $391,900 and median annual rent of $17,760.

36. Fort Worth, Texas

Panther City’s price-to-rent ratio has crept up to 22, based on a median home sale price of $340,000 and median rent of $15,120 per year.

37. Houston

Houston, we have a number: it’s a price-rent-ratio of 19. That’s based on a median sale price of $305,000 and median annual rent of $16,080.

38. Louisville, Ky.

Kentucky’s largest city has a median home sale price of $224,950 and median annual rent of $12,720. That leaves Louisville with a price-to-rent ratio of almost 18.

39. Columbus, Ohio

The only Ohio city on this list has a price-to-rent ratio of 19, due to a median sale price of $249,900 and median annual rent of $12,840.

40. Atlanta

Heading South, Atlanta has a median sale price of $400,000 and median annual rent of $19,440, for a price-to-rent ratio of 20.

41. Miami

Those looking to put down roots in this vibrant city will find a price-to-rent ratio of just under 19, based on a median home sale price of $525,000 and median rent of $19,200 annually.

42. Minneapolis

The Mini-Apple is sweeter on renting, with a ratio of 21. This is based on a median sale price of $320,000 and median annual rent of $14,880.

43. New Orleans

Next up is another charming southern city. New Orleans has a price-to-rent ratio of nearly 18, given a median sale price of $325,000 and median rent of $18,240 per year.

44. Kansas City, Mo.

In this Show-Me State city, a median home value of $246,000 and median annual rent of $12,720 equate to a price-to-rent ratio of 19.

45. Chicago

Chi-Town’s 14 price-to-rent ratio is based on a $310,000 median home sale price and $22,440 median annual rent.

46. Memphis, Tenn.

Memphis logs a price-to-rent ratio of nearly 15, with a median home sale price of $179,500 and median annual rent of $12,240.

47. Indianapolis

The ratio in this capital city is 18, thanks to a median home sale price of $225,000 and median annual rent of $12,360.

48. Philadelphia

This major East Coast city had a recent median sale price of $250,750 and median annual rent of $17,640, for a price-to-rent ratio of 14.

49. Baltimore

Charm City had a recent median home sale price of $215,000 and median annual rent of $16,560, resulting in a price-to-rent ratio of 13.

50. Newark, N.J.

Newark, anyone? The median sale price here is $409,000, with median rent at $1,400 a month (or $16,800 a year), leading to a ratio of 24.

51. Milwaukee

Milwaukee is slightly more favorable to homebuyers than renters, thanks to a price-to-rent ratio of 15. This Midwest city had a recent median sale price of $180,000 and median annual rent of $11,640.

52. Detroit

Detroit saw a spike in home sale prices, though the latest median sale price was a relatively low $82,000, compared with median annual rent of $13,200. This resulted in a price-to-rent ratio of 6.

How to Calculate Price-to-Rent Ratio

If you don’t see your city on the list, rest assured that it’s possible to calculate price-to-rent ratio yourself. To do so, you’ll simply take the median home sale price in your area and divide it by median annual rent.

Here’s an example: Let’s say the median rent in a city is $3,000 a month, and the median sale price is $1 million. You’d divide $1 million by $36,000 ($3,000 per month multiplied by 12, the number of months in the year). The result is a price-to-rent ratio of nearly 28.

The Takeaway

The price-to-rent ratio lends insight into whether a city is more favorable to buyers or renters. Usually in a range of 1 to 21-plus, the ratio is useful to house hunters, renters, and investors who want to get the lay of the land.

If you’re in the market to buy, whether as a primary homeowner or an investor, give SoFi Mortgage Loans a look. SoFi Home Loans have competitive rates. Plus, you may qualify for a loan with well under 20% down

Interested in a home loan with SoFi? Find your rate in minutes.


Third-Party Brand Mentions: No brands, products, or companies mentioned are affiliated with SoFi, nor do they endorse or sponsor this article. Third-party trademarks referenced herein are property of their respective owners.

Financial Tips & Strategies: The tips provided on this website are of a general nature and do not take into account your specific objectives, financial situation, and needs. You should always consider their appropriateness given your own circumstances.

SoFi Mortgages
Terms, conditions, and state restrictions apply. Not all products are available in all states. See SoFi.com/eligibility for more information.


SoFi Loan Products
SoFi loans are originated by SoFi Bank, N.A., NMLS #696891 (Member FDIC). For additional product-specific legal and licensing information, see SoFi.com/legal. Equal Housing Lender.


SOHL0722010

Read more
TLS 1.2 Encrypted
Equal Housing Lender